On January 1, Oregon State played in its second Rose Bowl in school history. The Beavers, under second year coach Tommy Prothro, were defeated 35-19 by Big Ten champion Iowa.

Oregon Forest Products Laboratory expanded into the Oregon Forest Research Center.

Oregon State College invited to become one of 62 members of the National Association of State Universities.

Admission requirement raised on the basis of average high school grades.

Forest Experiment Station consolidated with the Agricultural Experiment Station.

Cordley Hall and Weatherford Dining Hall completed.


School of Forestry, in conjunction with the Swedish Royal College of Forestry, sponsored a Swedish-American Forestry Conference at Stockholm in June.

The college's first nuclear reactor acquired - an AGN-201 purchased for $250,000. It was originally located in Dearborn Hall.

International students: 207 from 36 different countries.

The Poling/Cauthorn/Buxton/Hawley residence hall quad completed.


School of Humanities and Social Sciences established and granted permission to offer B.A. and B.S. degrees, but only in two "Divisional" majors: Humanities (and Arts) and Social Sciences.

Department of Oceanography established.

Snell Hall (residence hall) opened.

Weniger Hall completed.

OSC vs. University of Iowa Rose Bowl, 1957

OSC playing the University of Iowa at the Rose Bowl, 1957.

Dearborn Hall Nuclear Reactor, 1960

Dearborn Nuclear Reactor, 1960

Women moving into the new Cauthorn Hall dormitory

Women moving into the new Cauthorn Hall dormitory, September 1957

NROTC rifle team, 2nd National Hurst

NROTC rifle team, 2nd National Hurst, January 1957

Harvey Christensen working on the Oregon State College Electronic Analog Computer (OSCEAC)

Working with the Oregon State College Electronic Analog Computer, 1957