skip to main content
Oregon State University
Special Collections and Archives
Research Center

Printer Friendly

Email Us

View Shelf

Gerald W. Williams Regional Albums, 1875-2000View associated digital content.

Predominant Dates: 1900-1960
The Gerald W. Williams Regional Albums consist of images and ephemera assembled by geographical regions. They were acquired and compiled Williams in the course of his work as a Forest Service sociologist and historian and due to his avocational interest in the history of forestry and the history of the United States, especially that of the Pacific Northwest region.  The albums document popular tourist destinations, national parks, the natural environment, prominent natural and architectural landmarks, forests and forest operations, mining, trains and railroads, early towns and cities, prominent citizens, and human activities, such as public events, hunting and fishing, and everyday life. More than 650 images from selected Oregon albums have been digitized as part of the Gerald W. Williams collection.  Gerald Williams worked for the U.S. Forest Service from 1979 to 2005 as a sociologist (1979-1998) and historian (1998-2005).
ID: P 303
Extent: 11.8 cubic feet
More Extent Information
Scope and Content Notes
Biographical / Historical Notes
Statement on Access: Collection is open for research.
Arrangement
Preferred Citation: Gerald W. Williams Regional Albums (P 303), Oregon State University Special Collections & Archives Research Center, Corvallis, Oregon.
Languages of Materials
Other

Container List

Series 1: Lower McKenzie River Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1875-1976, Bulk: 1900-1945 Add to Shelf

Format: There are 69 contemporary duplicate prints copied from the originals in the Lane County Historical Museum, Oregon Historical Society and University of Oregon, Knight Library Special Collections & University Archives, as well as several other public and private collections. The bulk of the 168 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs, with a small number of color lithographed and contemporary postcards. The remaining 26 original photographs are mostly snapshots taken by non-professional photographers.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Christian, Eddy, Howard, Martin and Smith as well as several postcards from Dotson’s Photo, Eugene, Oregon.

Narrative Description: These folders consist of images documenting the lower McKenzie River, Oregon area’s natural beauty, structures and residents. The images are organized as they are physically located along the McKenzie Highway, which winds eastward from Springfield through Leaburg, Vida, Nimrod, Blue River and Rainbow. Williams has also included some images of Springfield, Oregon, which is south of the McKenzie River, as well as an early postcard of the Southern Pacific Railroad bridge which crosses the McKenzie River at Armitage State Park north of Eugene, Oregon.

The collection documents notable natural landmarks along the McKenzie River including Eagle Rock, Finn Rock and the Martin Rapids, as well as the scenic beauty of the river itself. There are several early images of the Deadman Ferry, and other McKenzie River ferries, which were later replaced by a system of bridges over the McKenzie River. Images of McKenzie River bridges include the Hendricks and Goodpasture Covered Bridges, and several steel truss bridges. The collection also has several photographs of the Leaburg and Cougar Dams which were constructed on the McKenzie River system to generate electricity and control flooding. There are also some images of the Lucky Boy Mine which at one time operated in the Blue River Mining District.

Over the years the lower McKenzie River has been a popular place for camping and fishing. In addition to documenting various campgrounds, this collection also includes photographs of a number of area restaurants, ranches and “chateaus” which were popular in the 1930s and 40s. They include Cascade Resort, Helen’s Chateau, Helen’s Hobby Hut, Lucky Lodge, McKenzie Angler’s Club, McKenzie Chateau, McKenzie Half-Way Ranch Hotel, Nimrod Inn, Phil’s Place, Quimby Restaurant, Rainbow Auto Camp Store and Garage, Seymour’s Chateau, Shermer’s Chateau, Sparks Ranch, The Stockade and Thomson’s Lodge. Holiday Farm, located near Blue River, was a popular vacation spot for former President Herbert Hoover and is documented with a series of photographs. To maintain sufficient fish stocks in the McKenzie River, the McKenzie State Trout Hatchery was constructed and is documented with several photographs.

Complementing the images of the natural and built environment are photographs of a number of early settlers and long-time residents of the McKenzie River area including: George and Sarah Armitage; Mr. and Mrs. John Cogswell; the Hendricks Family; George Josephsen; the Millican Family; Edwin Schwering; Carrie Smeed; Jacob and Nancy Spores and the Strube Family. There are also portraits of the river’s namesake, Donald Mackenzie (1783-1851), an explorer for the Astor Expedition who explored the region in 1812, and Lord Nelson Roney (1853-1944) Oregon’s most productive covered bridge builder from the 1880s to the mid 1920s.

Extent: 263 images, 3 folders
Box-Folder 1.1-1.3 Add to Shelf
Series 2: Rogue Valley Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1890-1985, Bulk: 1900-1950 Add to Shelf

Format: There is one contemporary duplicate print copied from the original in the USDA Forest Service Collection. The bulk of the 442 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs, with a small number of color lithographed and contemporary postcards. The remaining 14 original photographs are mostly snapshots taken by non-professional photographers with several professional images.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Art-Ray, Artcraft, Darling, Eastman’s Studio, Harwood, Miller Photo Company, Hendrick’s Photo, Frank H. Hull (Medford, Oregon), Sawyer Scenic Photos (Portland, Oregon), Sawyer’s, Smith, Studio Ashland and the Western Card Company.

Narrative Description: These folders consist of images documenting the Southern Oregon area’s natural beauty, street scenes, local landmarks and agriculture. Following views of Mount Pitt (Mt. McLoughlin) and Lake of the Woods, there are images of various natural landmarks along the Crater Lake Highway including: Box Canyon, Crater Lake Highway Bridge, Mill Creek Falls, Natural Bridge, Natural Bridge at Riviera Park, Rogue River Falls, Rogue River near Flounce Rock, Upper Rogue River, and the waterfall two miles above the Natural Bridge. Williams loosely organized the images to follow the old Highway 99 route beginning at the California-Oregon border and continuing north through Medford, Jacksonville, Central Point, Gold Hill and ending with the Grants Pass area. There are also a few images of Eagle Point and Butte Falls to the east.

Pilot Rock and Mount Ashland, have been a guide to travelers from Ashland, Oregon to northern California since pioneer days. Complementing the images of these natural landmarks are panoramic views of Ashland, from the hills surrounding the town, and a detailed view of downtown taken from the top of the Lithia Hotel around 1930. Along with early images of the Ashland Plaza, various street scenes and hotels, there are also views of the original wooden buildings of the Southern Oregon State Normal School, which closed in 1909 due to the lack of state support. In the summer of 1926, the Southern Oregon Normal School was reopened in the newly constructed Churchill Hall, which became the centerpiece for an ever-expanding campus. Later known as the Southern Oregon College of Education (1940s), Southern Oregon College (1950s) and Southern Oregon State College (1970s), today this educational institution is known as Southern Oregon University.

Williams has also included a number of early views of Lithia Park and the Oregon Shakespearean Festival, whose outdoor theatre was constructed within the concrete walls of the old Chautauqua Building. Also known at times as Chautauqua Park, Lithia Park was established on 8 acres in 1892 as a place where the Chautauqua Association could bring entertainment and noted speakers of the day. In 1893 a large wooden-domed building was constructed on top of a circular concrete base overlooking the entrance to Lithia Park. By the 1920s radio and motion pictures had caused the gradual demise of the national Chautauqua movement and Ashland’s Chautauqua Building fell into disrepair. Later the roof was demolished leaving the lower concrete walls. In the summer of 1935, the first Shakespearean plays were performed within the walls of the old Chautauqua building which today houses the Oregon Shakespearean Festival outdoor theatre. In 1909 the acreage along Ashland Creek was acquired for the park which grew to include an Auto Camp Ground, scenic ponds and the Butler-Perozzi Fountain. Near the source of Ashland Creek is the upper intake for the Ashland Waterworks.

The city of Medford, Oregon was established in the early 1880s with the construction of the Oregon and California Railroad which opened in 1884. In addition of panoramic views of the city and street scenes, there are images of the Hotel Medford, several lumber mills, local agriculture and orchards. The folders also include images of nearby Central Point, the Mon Desir Restaurant, along with street scenes of Jacksonville and the Jacksonville Museum, from the late 1940s. The Sterling Mine was located south of Jacksonville and is documented with several images depicting large scale hydraulic mining.

At the north end of the Rogue River Valley are two flat rock plateaus known as Table Rock and Lower Table Rock. There are also views of Table Rock seen from the Gold Ray Dam located on the Rogue River, near Gold Hill, Oregon. Further north of Gold Hill, is the House of Mystery at the Oregon Vortex which is documented with a number of postcards showing visitors standing at gravity defying angles. The Oregon Vortex is described as a spherical magnetic anomaly which is situated half above ground and half below ground. The House of Mystery was constructed as an assay office and tool shed for the Old Grey Eagle Mining Company. The company ceased its mining operations in 1911 and later the wooden building slid off its foundation to its current location. The House of Mystery was opened in 1930 so visitors could experience such strange phenomenon as brooms standing upright on their own and balls rolling uphill, due to the magnetic anomalies of the Oregon Vortex.

Grants Pass, founded in the 1860s, is documented with several street scenes and views of the Rogue River which bisects the city. Other images along the Rogue River include Hell’s Gate, Blossom Bar, Ramey Falls, White Rocks, people shooting the rapids at China Bar and various fishing expeditions. There is also extensive documentation of the nearby Oregon Caves which were discovered by Elijah J. Davidson, around 1874, and became a national monument in 1909. Along with views of the entrance, including several images with fur-draped locals dressed as “cavemen”, there are detailed views of various “rooms” inside the caves. The unique formations inside the caves have been given such poetic names as: Joaquin Miller’s Chapel, the Atlantic Ocean, King’s Palace, Niagara Falls, Old Nick’s Bedroom, Paradise Lost, Petrified Forest, Queen’s Room, Satan’s Cradle, Twin Sisters, Washington Monument and Yosemite Falls. There is also extensive interior and exterior documentation of the Oregon Caves Chateau with its small stream running through the dining room, a dance floor, rustic stairway and outdoor evening campfires.

Extent: 457 images, 5 folders
Box-Folder 2.1-2.5 Add to Shelf
Series 3: Upper McKenzie River Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1885-1980, Bulk: 1900-1960 Add to Shelf

Format: There are 34 contemporary duplicate prints copied from the originals in the Lane County Historical Museum, University of Oregon and the USDA - Forest Service Collections as well as 8 black and white photographs by Sam Frear and Tonya Houg. The bulk of the 206 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs, with a small number of color lithographed and contemporary postcards. The remaining 25 original photographs are mostly snapshots taken by non-professional photographers with some professional images.

Photographers: The photographers for these images range from Frank A. Rankin, Eugene City, who photographed a glacier on one of the Three Sisters around 1885, to the late 1970s work of Sam Frear and Tonya Houg. The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name or photo studio written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: A & D. Studio (Bend, Oregon), Christian, Delano Photo, Dotson Photo (Eugene, Oregon), Eddy, Seale Gould, Howard, B. C. Markham (The Dalles, Oregon), E. F. Martin (Eugene, Oregon), Perkins, Photo Art Studio (Bend, Oregon), Sawyers, Sawyers Scenic Photos (Portland, Oregon), Smith and Symons Bros. (Bend, Oregon).

Narrative Description: These folders consist of images documenting the natural beauty, structures and residents of the Upper McKenzie River, Oregon area. The sites are located along the McKenzie Highway from the McKenzie Bridge to McKenzie Pass, north of the Three Sisters mountains.

Over the years the Upper McKenzie River has been a popular place for vacations and enjoying the natural beauty of the area. The McKenzie Bridge was a wooden covered bridge, in the early 20th century, which was later replaced with an arching concrete bridge. A small town grew up around this important river crossing which is documented with several contemporary duplicate prints from the Lane County Museum and the U.S. Forest Service. The early wooden buildings of McKenzie Bridge, Oregon were later replaced with more modern structures housing Fuller’s Wishing Well Motel, Lauer’s Store and the rustic Log Cabin Inn, which is documented with early and contemporary views. Other visitor amenities in the area include: the Belnap Hot Springs Hotel and the swimming pool at Belnap Hot Springs, Clear Lake Resort, the Foley Springs Hotel, Lost Creek Ranch, the McKenzie Ranger Station and St. Benedict’s Retreat.

The collection documents many notable natural landmarks in the area including: Belnap Crater, the cliffs above Obsidian Flat, Sister Springs, Proxy Falls, Scott Lake, and Three Sisters mountains. Numerous summer views show the lava strewn McKenzie Pass, along with the lava encrusted Dee Wright Observatory and surrounding scenic panoramas. Winter views of the McKenzie Pass show early snow removal equipment creating a narrow passage way through towering walls of snow. The scenic views of the Three Sisters mountains also include images of Mount Jefferson, Mount Washington and the Renfro and Collier Cone glaciers on Three Sisters. Other natural and man-made features include: Broken Top mountain, Carmen Diversion Dam, Clear Lake, Elk Lake, Koosah Falls, McKenzie Falls, McKenzie River, Morain Lake, Sahalie Falls, Tamolitch Falls, Tee Hee Falls and Upper Falls.

Complementing the images of the natural and built environment are photographs of a number of early settlers, long-time residents and visitors to the upper McKenzie River area including: Dr. O. N. Foley, “Uncle” George Frissell (1848-1921), George N. Moody, packer and guide, and the Sparks Family picnicking .

Extent: 273 images, 3 folders
Box-Folder 3.1-3.3 Add to Shelf
Series 4: Crater Lake Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1874-2000, Bulk: 1900-1950 Add to Shelf

Format: There are 6 contemporary duplicate prints copied from the originals in the Douglas County Museum and an unidentified collection. The bulk of the 284 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs, with a small number of color lithographed and contemporary postcards. The remaining 18 original photographs are mostly by professional photographers with a few snapshots.

Photographers: Given Crater Lake’s unique geography and picturesque qualities, the lake and its environs have been a popular subject for photographers throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. The first photograph of Crater Lake was taken in 1874 by Peter Britt, Jacksonville, Oregon and is included in the collection as a postcard reproduction. The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: A.M. Card Company, Art Ray, Brubaker Aerial Surveys, C.L.P. Company (Klamath Falls, Oregon), Peter Britt (Jacksonville, Oregon), Christian, Cross & Dimmitt, Frank Duncan (Klamath Falls, Oregon), J.H. Eastman, Eastman’s Studio, Eddy, B.P. Harwood, Frank H. Hull (Medford, Oregon), F.H. Kiser (Portland, Oregon), B.B.B. Kowski (Bend, Oregon), B.C. Markham (The Dalles, Oregon), Miller Photo Company, Patterson, Sawyer Scenic Photos (Portland, Oregon), Sawyers, Scenic America Company, Stevenson Studio, Taylor, Western Card Company.

Narrative Description: These folders consist of images in and around Crater Lake National Park, Oregon including Diamond Lake to the north, outside the park boundaries. There are several panoramas of the lake, views of boating on the lake and winter scenes showing the lake’s natural features and buildings at Rim Village covered in snow.

Images of the natural features of the park include: Cottage Rocks, Dutton Cliff, East Palisades, East Shore, Garfield Peak, Glacier Peak, the Grotto, Hanging Wall, Llao Rock, the Palisades, Phantom Ship, Pinnacle Rock, Steele Cliff, Sunset Point, Watchman and Wizard Island, along with a distant view of Mt. Scott and Mt. Thielsen. Manmade amenities to the lake include: the original Crater Lake lodge and the lodge with later additions, the highway to Crater Lake, Rim Road, the stone safety walls, the Sinnot Memorial Observation Point, the South Entrance arch and sign, and trails to the lake. Other photographs include the Administrative headquarters, Engineer’s Camp and Wilson’s Cottages south of Crater Lake.

Images of the area around Crater Lake include: Anna Spring (later Annie Springs), Castle Creek Canyon, Creek Canyon, Dewie Canyon and Falls, The Garden of the Gods, Godfrey’s Glen, Granite Falls, Lemolo Falls, Pinnacles in West Sand Creek Canyon, Sun Creek and Vidae Falls. Wildlife photographs include bears, chipmunks, a Clark’s Nutcracker, geese, golden mantle squirrels and trout from a fishing trip to Crater Lake. There are also some postcards of nearby Diamond Lake showing the lodge and cabins as well as distant views of Mt. Bailey and Mt. Thielsen.

One of the most interesting series of images is of the Lady of the Woods, which is a life-sized figure of a woman on the end of a large boulder. For many years this sculpture was believed to be a natural phenomenon, possibly a lava casting of a native woman who was protecting herself from an erupting volcano. Later it was discovered that Dr. Earl R. Bush, of the U. S. Public Health Service, had made the carving during his stay in the woods October 4-19, 1917 and had left it unfinished due to weather hazardous conditions. In an accompanying article he states “This statue represents my offering to the forest, my interpretation of its awful stillness and repose, its beauty, fascination, and unseen life. A deep love of this virgin wilderness has fastened itself upon me and remains today. It seemed that I must leave something behind . . ."

Extent: 308 images, 3 folders
Box-Folder 4.1-4.3 Add to Shelf
Series 5: Eugene/Springfield Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1860-1990, Bulk: 1900-1960 Add to Shelf

Format: There are 19 contemporary duplicate prints copied from the originals in the Lane County Historical Museum, the USDA Forest Service Collection and an unknown source. There are also 2 contemporary photographs taken by Gerald W. Williams. The bulk of the 196 postcards are sepia toned, black and white photographs and color lithographed images. The remaining 32 photographs are mostly snapshots taken by non-professional photographers.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Christian, Dotson Photos (Eugene, Oregon), Eddy, Frank H. Hull (Medford, Oregon), Lare, Linn Drug Company, Martin & Axtell, Prentiss, Rankin (Eugene City, Oregon), A.C. Read (Eugene, Oregon), Smith and the Winter Photo Company (Eugene, Oregon).

Narrative Description: These folders consist of general views of Eugene, Oregon including panoramas from Hendricks Park and Skinner’s Butte, Willamette Street during various decades and aerial views of the city. There are also images documenting civic, commercial, educational, religious and other buildings in Eugene, Oregon, including numerous photographs of the University of Oregon campus. Civic structures include: the Lane County Courthouse (1898-1959); Eugene City Hall, in the former Eugene High School Building (1903-1964); Eugene Post Office (1910-1958) and the Eugene Public Library (1906-1959). Images of commercial buildings are often related to travel such as the Southern Pacific Passenger Depot, now known as the Eugene Depot, the Eugene Hotel, Osborne Hotel and Stage Terminal Hotel. Educational buildings include Eugene High School, Geary School and Patterson School.

The religious life of the city is documented with images of the Congregational Church, First Baptist Church, First Christian Church, First Methodist Church and St. Mary’s Episcopal Church, and the Divinity School at Northwest Christian College. Other buildings include the Elk’s Building, Eugene Armory, Eugene F. Skinner’s Log Cabin (replica), General or Mercy Hospital, Golden Gate Lumber Company, Park Blocks City Park, Sacred Heart Hospital, Skinner’s Butte Reservoir, Tiffany Building and the West Park and Rest Cottage. Waterways in and around Eugene are documented with images of the bridges across the Willamette River into Springfield, views of the Willamette River from Judkins Point and various scenes taken along the Millrace.

The University of Oregon was established in 1876 the same year Deady Hall was constructed on campus. Ten years later Villard Hall was completed and together these two buildings became the nucleus for the expanding university campus which is documented with numerous postcards and snapshot images. Along with photographs of Deady and Villard Halls, there are also images of the Administration Building, Collier House, Commonwealth Hall, Condon Hall, Fenton Hall, Friendly Hall, Hendricks Hall, Knight Library, McArthur Court, McClure Hall and the Women’s Building. There are also images of the Pioneer Father statue, the “Lake” which at one time was located on the corner of East 11th Avenue and Kincaid Street and various fraternity houses including: Beta Theta Pi, Chi Psi Lodge, Gamma Delta and Sigma Nu houses.

Complementing the images of downtown Eugene and the University of Oregon are photographs of a number of early settlers and long-time residents including: James David Callison; Susanna Dawson Callison (Mrs. Joseph Callison); Dr. William Gale and wife Rebecca Jones Gale; James Scott and Emma McMurry; Benjamin Franklin Owen, wife Jane Curry McClure Owen and son Robert V. Owen; George Petty, son of Joseph N. Petty; Dr. Sharples; Ardelia Zumwalt Walker (Mrs. William Thomas Walker) and Cal M. Young (1871-1957). There are also photographs of Mrs. Anna Buck and the Fielden McMurry Family standing in front of their homes.

Extent: 249 images, 3 folders
Box-Folder 5.1-5.3 Add to Shelf
Series 6: Santiam Valley Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1886-1980, Bulk: 1900-1980 Add to Shelf

Format: There are 7 contemporary duplicate prints copied from the originals in the Cottage Grove Museum, Douglas County Museum and the University of Oregon. There are also 2 contemporary photographs taken by Gerald W. Williams and 5 from undocumented sources. The bulk of the 124 postcards are sepia toned, black and white photographs and color lithographed images. The remaining 46 photographs are snapshots taken by non-professional photographers with a number of unidentified studio portraits.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Roy Andrews, Armstrong (Cottage Grove, Oregon), J. N. Boyd (Cottage Grove, Oregon), Christian, Dotson Photo/s (Eugene, Oregon), Eddy, Frank H. Hull (Medford, Oregon), Kiser Bros. (Portland, Oregon), E. F. Martin (Eugene, Oregon) and A. L. Monroe (Cottage Grove, Oregon).

Narrative Description: These folders consist of images documenting the natural features, recreational sites and small towns of Oregon’s East Central Willamette Valley which Gerald Williams grouped under the title “Santiam Valley.” The area documented by these postcards and photographs stretches from Silverton, Mill City, Lebanon and Brownsville in the west, to Detroit, Breitenbush Hot Springs and the Cascade Range in the east. The northern border is the Henline Mountain area in Marion County north of Elkton, and south to Cascadia that is located on the South Santiam River.

The Santiam Pass is the crossing point over the Cascade Range for Oregon Highways 20, 22 and 126 and is documented with summer and winter views. Originally known as Hogg Pass, after Col. T. Egenton Hogg who designated this crossing for his proposed railroad, Santiam Pass was renamed in 1929 when the Santiam Highway was completed. The original Santiam Pass is located three miles south and was discovered in 1859. The original pass may be documented in a 1920s photograph of the Half-Way House Barn.

Nearby mountains include Three Fingered Jack and Mt. Washington. There are also individual views of these mountains from Big Lake, Lost Lake, Marion Lake, Middle Patjens Lake, Ollalie Lake, Square Lake, and the Santiam Toll Road. Three Fingered Jack and Mt. Washington are included in a group panorama with Hoodoo and Hayrack Buttes. Approximately 20 miles north of the Santiam Pass is Mt. Jefferson, which was named by Lewis and  Clark in 1803 for the nation’s third president. This 10,495 foot peak is visible from neighboring Detroit Lake or Reservoir, and Marion Lake. There are also view of the Mt. Jefferson from Battle Axe Look Out, Hanging Valley and Pamelia Lake. Cascadia was established on the South Santiam River fourteen miles east of Sweet Home, in 1898. The unincorporated community began as a stage stop along with Santiam Wagon Road and later George Geisendorfer constructed a hotel near the Cascadia Mineral Springs. In 1940 the state acquired Cascadia which is now part of the 300-acre Cascadia Park. Nearby landmarks include the Cascadia Canyon Creek Footbridge, the Forest Ranger’s Lookout Station on Hurricane Deck and the Mountain House, a former lodge on Highway 20. Area geographic features include: Rainbow Falls, the falls on Soda Creek, Little Wiley Creek and Rooster Rock.

West of Cascadia are the towns of Sweet Home, Brownsville and Lebanon, which are not as well documented as some of the towns in Williams' other folders. There is a view of logs in the Santiam River being floated to a local mill along with an aerial view of the Santiam Lumber Company near Sweet Home. Accompanying this aerial view is a photograph of an early lumber truck with one large log on it and one of a bridge over the Santiam River near Sweet Home. It is unclear where the Red and Eagles’ Nest railroad tunnels in Box Canyon are located relative to Sweet Home, Oregon. Views of Brownsville include the nearby Calapooia Dam, Coshow’s Park on the Calapooia River and a panorama of the town along with a view of the J. D. Iraine House. Portraits of Brownville residents Dr. William Rowland and Reverend Henry Harmon Spalding are also included.

The Lebanon Valley is known for Peterson’s Butte where Judge Denny first “liberated” imported Chinese pheasants in 1882. East of Peterson’s Butte is the town of Lebanon, established in 1851, which is better known for its early paper mills and later the Crown Willamette Paper Company and Evan Products Company facilities. Crossing the Santiam River is an automobile bridge which replaced an earlier wooden covered bridge south of the manmade Santiam Falls. Other area views include the double span railroad bridge over the Santiam River, and a horse team cutting grain on a Lebanon farm in 1916. Southeast of Lebanon is Sodaville which was the site of a two-story spring house. In nearby Waterloo a picturesque covered bridge crossed the Santiam River in the early 1900s.

East of Salem, Oregon is Silver Creek which flows out of Silver Creek Falls area, in the Cascade foothills above Silverton, creating the Silverton Falls and others. Logging first drew people to this area in the mid-1840s, who cut down trees by hand with felling axes and two-man saws into the early 20th century. Later water power from Silver Creek encouraged the construction of mills, such as Fischer’s Mill, along with waterway in Silverton. Included in the collection are also views of the Lutheran Church in Silverton.

In the early 1900s local photographer June Drake began efforts to have the area containing the source of Silver Creek and 10 naturally occurring waterfalls made into a park. It wasn’t until 1935 that President Franklin Roosevelt announced that the Silver Creek Falls area would be preserved as a Recreational Demonstration Area. Civilian Conservation Corps workers were employed to construct the South Falls Lodge and other visitor amenities. Along with an exterior view of the lodge and the caretakers’ cabin there in an interior view of the dining room. Included in the album are postcards of the Lower South Falls, Middle North Silver Creek Falls, South Silver Creek Falls, North Silver Creek Falls, the Upper North Falls and the Lower North Falls. South of the Silver Creek Falls area, the Marion Forks Lodge was constructed in 1933 by Nan and Scott Young soon after the opening of the Santiam Highway pass. The Marion Forks Lodge burned to the ground in 1972.

During the 1930s, farmers and business owners along the Willamette River demanded federal protection from periodic flooding which caused millions of dollars in damage. In 1938, Congress passed the Flood Control Act which authorized the construction of a dam on the Santiam River at Detroit, Oregon. Earlier in the century small wooden dams were constructed on the Santiam River possibly for irrigation purposes. Construction on the concrete Detroit Dam began on April 1, 1949 as part of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers’ Willamette Valley Project. The completed dam was dedicated by former Oregon Governor Douglas McKay and the U. S. Secretary of the Interior on June 10, 1953. In addition to flood control, the dam benefited navigation, irrigation, electric power production, stream purification and recreation. There are several modern color postcards showing the completed dam along with some early black and white photographs of the town of Detroit prior to the construction of the dam.

South of Detroit Lake is Mill City and the Little North Fork of the Santiam River. In 1887 John Shaw and others established the town site with a sawmill they moved from Stayton. The location on the North Santiam River may have been selected to power the mill. Over the years a town grew up around the mill and a wooden covered bridge was constructed to cross the Santiam River. Additional research is necessary to determine whether this railroad bridge was constructed over the low falls on the Santiam River at Mill City. By the early 1900s the Curtiss Lumber Company plant was a major employer in town.

Breitenbush Hot Springs is located west of the confluence of the North and South Forks of the Breitenbush Rivers. Along with the Hot Springs the Breitenbush River has a picturesque gorge and waterfalls. The earliest visitors to the Breitenbush Hot Springs were members of the Santiam band of the Kalapuya and later fur trappers from the Hudson Bay Company at Fort Vancouver. Named for the one-armed hunter, John Breightenbush, the springs became the private property in 1904 and a later a rustic bathhouse was constructed to accommodate visitors along with other visitor amenities.

In 1927, Merle Bruckman, whose wealthy father invented the first machine to produce ice cream cones, purchased the site and developed the Hot Springs into a wilderness health spa. The Bruckman’s Breitenbush Springs had a series of walking trails and bridges, an enclosed bathhouse, cabins, dance hall, grocery store restaurant, lodge and social hall. Guests could drink mineral water from a series of outdoor drinking fountains, soak their feet in an outdoor foot bath or swim in the open air pool. Bruckman sold the hot springs property in the 1950s and the resort was operated until 1972 when the effects of two major floods forced the closure of the site. In 1977 Breitenbush Hot Springs was purchased for rehabilitation as a retreat - conference center and home to an intentional living community.

Extent: 321 images, 4 folders
Box-Folder 6.1-6.4 Add to Shelf
Series 7: Southern Willamette Valley Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1880-1990, Bulk: 1900-1960 Add to Shelf

Format: There are 28 contemporary duplicate prints copied from the originals in the Lane County Historical Museum; the Grace Smith Collection; the National Archives, the Forest Service Collection, the USDA Forest Service and several unknown sources. This group of prints also includes original photographs by Ray Filloon, Sam Frear, Louise Parker, Lloyd F. Ryan and Gordon Short. The bulk of the 268 postcards are sepia toned and black and white photographs with some color lithographed and contemporary images. The remaining 25 original photographs are mostly by professional photographers with a few snapshots.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Blackburn & Underwood (Lebanon, Oregon), Christian, Coffey Photo, Cooper & Russell (Detroit, Oregon), J. G. Crawford (Albany, Oregon), Dotson Photo (Eugene, Oregon), Drake Photo (Silverton, Oregon), Drake Bros. (Silverton, Oregon), J. D. Drake (Silverton, Oregon), Jones Photo (Silverton, Oregon), W. L. Jones Photo (Silverton, Oregon), Jones the Photographer (Silverton, Oregon), Klasic, Landstrom Photo, B. C. Markham (Portland, Oregon), McEwan (Silverton, Oregon), Patton, Perkins, Sawyer Scenic Photos (Portland, Oregon), Smith, Symons, Ted Weldon. Photographers for the contemporary duplicate prints noted above include: Ray Filloon, Sam Frear, Louise Parker, Lloyd F. Ryan and Gordon Short.

Narrative Description: These folders consist of images documenting the small towns, recreational sites and natural features of Southern Lane County Oregon. This rural landscape covers the area west from Cottage Grove to Willamette Pass on the eastern edge of the county and north from the town of Pleasant Hill to the Bohemia Mining District near the southern boundary. The postcards and photographs are divided into two main groups of images documenting the natural beauty, structures and residents along Highway 58, from Willamette Pass to Oakridge, and the Cottage Grove area including Dorena and the Bohemia Mountain area.

Beginning with Willamette Pass Ski area, southeast of Oakridge, there are various images of the scenery and tunnels along Highway 58, also known as the Willamette Highway. Along this route lie Gold Lake, Salt Creek, Salt Creek Falls, the Salt Creek Railroad Bridge and Sprinkling Rock. Approximately half way between Willamette Pass and Oakridge is McCredie Springs Resort area which includes the McCredie Springs Hotel, McCredie Springs Hotel, Goble Creek and Swinging Bridge. Nearby Baby Rock was named for the legend that Indians sleeping near the rock were bitten by animals which left footprints around the rock like that of a small baby.

Closer to Oakridge is Kitson Hot Springs Resort featuring a lodge and bath house. The resort was closed in 1963 and was donated to the Oregon Trail Boy Scout Council, in 1977, who have since removed the resort structures. Salmon Creek Falls is located on Salmon Creek, near Oakridge, which flows north of the Salmon Hatchery. Oakridge is also home to the Pope - Talbot Sawmill, Hiway Theatre, Steele’s Grocery and Croner’s Hiway Store. Natural features in the area include: Diamond Peak, Lookout Mountain showing the railroad tunnel and Profile Rock. Continuing up Highway 58 towards Eugene is the historic Lowell Market in Lowell and the Pleasant Hill Public School in Pleasant Hill.

West of Oakridge is Dorena Lake, a manmade reservoir resulting from the damming of the Row River in 1949. For many years the Row River, a tributary of the Coast Fork of the Willamette River, was a transportation corridor for the Bohemia Mining District near Bohemia Mountain. Along with timber, transported by the Bohemia Railroad, mining was in important industry in this area and is documented with views of the Bohemia, Harris, Quartz Mill and Visouviu Mines. To move the ore from the mine to the stamp mill, where it was crushed and sorted, ore cars travelling on metal rails were often laid on rows of wooden ties. There is also a photograph of a mining camp and several group shots of miners working and gathered for a group portrait. Closer to Cottage Grove are Mosby Creek, Wildwood Falls, London Springs Hotel and Campground and the old Latham General Store.

The town of Cottage Grove is documented with a variety of panoramas, taken from David Mountain and street scenes from various decades. There are also specific views of the Southern Pacific log trains, Cottage Grove Hospital, Currin’s bridge over the west fork of the Willamette River, the Westside School and the rustic Anlauf Motor Lodge, along with several view of the nearby Willamette River. A panorama of Creswell and a close-up of the Methodist Episcopal Church and Parsonage are also included.

Complementing the images of the natural and built environment are a casual accumulation of portraits including: L. and Bertha Harrington with children Clifford and Flossie; Joseph Kupetz with two plucked turkeys; four studio portraits of Bob Legar as a young boy; Addie L. Morris, a General Land Office Forest Ranger, and his wife, residents of Big Prairie, Oregon; the James M. Parker Family in front of their home at Cloverdale, Oregon; the Wolf Family in front of their cabin at Big Prairie, Oregon and group shots of students in front of various Cottage Grove, Oregon Schools.

Extent: 184 images, 3 folders
Box-Folder 7.1-7.3 Add to Shelf
Series 8: Willamette Valley Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1890-1970, Bulk: 1900-1920 Add to Shelf

Format: There is only a single contemporary duplicate print in these folders. The bulk of the 370 postcards are sepia toned and black and white photographs with some color lithographed and contemporary images. The remaining 52 original photographs are snapshot portraits, snapshots and the work of professional photographers.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Ball, C. McC. Barton, William K. Burghard’s Company, F.J. Catterlin (Salem, Oregon), Cawthon (Independence, Oregon), Chase, Christian, Coffey, Collins, D. H. Craven (Independence, Oregon), Crawford & Paxton (Albany, Oregon), J. D. Drake (Silverton, Oregon), M. W. Earl, Eddy, Gunnell, W.L. Henbree Stationers (McMinnville, Oregon) J. Hogg (McMinnville, Oregon), Frank H. Hull (Medford, Oregon), Knutson Photo (Salem, Oregon), N.L., C.C. Lewis (Monmouth, Oregon), Dotson, G.W. Mackey (Halsey, Oregon), E.F. Martin Studio (Eugene, Oregon), Meier Photo (Jewell, Oregon), Moseley, Newton Photo, Prentiss, Ransford, Riley Photo (Newberg, Oregon), Sawyers, Tollman Studio (Eugene, Oregon), E.W.?

Narrative Description: These folders consist of images documenting cities and towns in the Willamette Valley from Junction City, north of Eugene, to Forest Grove and Orenco, east of Portland. Unlike other folders, where Williams organized images along a single travel route, these postcards and photographs are arranged more informally by geographic region from south to north.

Northwest of Eugene, Oregon are the towns of Franklin, Blachly and Tiernan situated along the Siuslaw River. There are several views of the waterways near Blachly including Lake Creek and Triangle Lake. In the 1870s Junction City was selected as the connecting point for Ben Holladay’s east and west side railroad lines. While this railroad scheme never materialized, the town grew to become the junction of two main branches of the Pacific Highway. Junction City is documented with several street scenes, along with views of the early Methodist church, several schools and the Hotel Block. Included are some postcards of a log train and several people.

Traveling north from Junction City on Highway 99E, is Halsey, named for the vice-president of Holladay’s Willamette Valley Railway Company, which includes view of the J. C. Standish House and the Christian Church. South of Halsey is the town of Harrisburg, which was incorporated in 1866. The agriculture of the area is highlighted with images of a nearby cornfield, row crops and an interior view of the Fry Warehouse filled with bags of rye grass seed and bales of hops.

Traveling north from Junction City, on Highway 99W, is the town of Monroe which was named for the fifth president of the United States. North of Monroe is Corvallis, a name invented by founder J.C. Avery from Latin meaning “heart of the valley.” The city is well documented with early panoramas and scenes along the Marys and Willamette Rivers. Included are also early views of the ferry on the Willamette River at Corvallis and the “New bridge at Corvallis” a steel truss swing bridge which crosses the Willamette River at Van Buren Street. Along with street scenes of the city there are images of Corvallis High School, the Benton County Courthouse and various scenes on the campus of the Oregon Agricultural College, now Oregon State University (OSU).

OSU’s roots go back to 1858 when it was established as a private academy in Corvallis and in 1868 the university was designated as Oregon’s “land grant university”. The system of land grant universities was established by the federal government in 1862. Federal funding enabled these universities to focus their instruction on agriculture, science and engineering in response to the social changes brought on by the Industrial Revolution. Over the last century of activity and growth, OSU has followed its three-fold mission of teaching, research and service to Oregonians and the world.

View of early campus buildings include: Benton Hall (Administration Building, 1887); Fairbanks Hall (Cauthorn Hall, 1892); Kearny Hall (Apperson Hall, 1899-1900); Education Hall (Agriculture Hall, 1902); Waldo Hall (1907); McAlexander Fieldhouse (1909-1910); Strand Agriculture Hall (Agronomy Hall, 1909); School of Domestic Science (Milam Hall, 1914); Memorial Union (1927-1928); Weatherford Hall (1928) and lower campus. There are also images of cadet regiments and early student’s gatherings on the lower campus grounds as well as a view of the Kappa Kappa Gamma House. An early view of Pioneer Hall and Music Hall, on the Linfield College campus in McMinnville, Oregon and John Straub Memorial Hall on the University of Oregon campus in Eugene, Oregon mistakenly found their way in with the images of Oregon State University.

Highway 99W continues north from Corvallis, through Adair Village, near the site of Camp Adair a 57,000 acre United State Army training facility from 1942-1946. The next town is Monmouth, home of Western Oregon University, and nearby Independence, Oregon on the Willamette River. For many years, hops have been an important crop in the Independence area and are documented with a variety of images. Northeast of Monmouth is Dallas, Oregon named for George Mifflin Dallas, Vice-President of the U.S. from 1845 to 1849. Along with a view of Main Street, there is a view of the Carnegie Library, the Old Covered Bridge and the Mill District.

In 1902 the senior class presented the “Lady of the Fountain” to the Oregon Agricultural College, now OSU. The nearly life-size metal statue was of Hebe, goddess of youth, stood atop a concrete circular basin which was constructed from bricks from the original Corvallis College building. Following a variety of student pranks involving the statue, the “Iron Lady” was stolen in late 1919 and eventually returned to campus during a track meet in 1922. The beloved statue was vandalized beyond repair with a sledgehammer the morning of January 21, 1929. There are several views of the statue soon after its installation in the lower campus.

Other views in the Corvallis area include: Marys River in winter, Marys Peak also known as Mount Chintimini, and the water supply intake for Corvallis located on Marys Peak. There are also several views of Philomath, Oregon located 5.5 miles southwest of Corvallis. Along with a panorama of the city, possibly taken east from the Philomath College building (Benton County Historical Society), there are views of the Benton County Lumber Company Planing Mill, the Philomath Public School and a lumber flume. A photograph of the State Normal School in Drain, Oregon, has been mistakenly placed with the photographs of Philomath.

Two early bridges to cross the Willamette River at Albany were the Steel Bridge and the C & E swing bridge which is shown with several steamships and its construction crew. The Steel Bridge, which carried vehicles from South Albany to the farms and Thornton’s Lake in North Albany, was replaced with the Lyons Street Bridge in 1925. The concrete pylons of the Steel Bridge, located west of the Lyons Street Bridge, were adapted for use as power poles. Other views around Albany include: a bucking bronco at the Western Oregon Round, the Madison Street School, a cannon and the bandstand in the Albany city park and the Linn County Courthouse. Images of local transportation and industry include: an Oregon Electric train passing through Albany, Oregon, mills on the Calapooia River and a group of mill workers standing on logs floating in a mill pond.

Northeast of Albany are the towns of Jefferson and Turner. Sometime around the turn of the 20th century, a wagon bridge was constructed across the Santiam River at Jefferson. In 1906 a steel railroad bridge was constructed slightly south of the wagon bridge by the Southern Pacific Railroad. The wagon bridge was replaced by the triple arched Santiam Bridge in the mid-1930s. Farther north in Turner, the Turner Flour Mill was constructed during this same time period.

West of Turner are the towns of Monmouth, Independence and Falls City which was named for the Luckiamute Falls on the Little Luckiamute River which flows nearby. Monmouth was named for Monmouth, Illinois which was the starting point of a group of pioneers who settle near the present site of the town in 1853. Members of this wagon train party set aside 640 acres for the town and Monmouth University which was established under the auspices of the Christian Church. In 1871 the university became the Christian College and in 1872 the state acquired the institution which became a teacher’s college and was renamed the Oregon State Normal School at Monmouth, then later Western Oregon College (Western Oregon University).. The collection includes several views of the school, around 1920, including Todd Hall and Campbell Hall with its picturesque bell tower, which blew over during the Columbus Day Storm in 1962.

Continuing north from Monmouth are Rickreal, Dallas, Sheridan and Salem, Oregon, which is northeast of Monmouth on the Willamette River. There are birds-eye views of Dallas and Rickreal along with a colored view of the Hotel Sheridan on the South Yamhill River. The city of Salem was established in 1840-1841 when the Jason Lee Mission was relocated south from a less desirable site along the Willamette River. Salem became the official state capitol in 1851 where it has remained except during 1855 when the capital was temporarily moved to Corvallis, Oregon and back to Salem in the same year. Beginning with a comical sign for Nohlgren’s “all you can eat” restaurant the collection includes downtown panoramas and street scenes, along with images of the Breyman Fountain, Marion Square, the Post Office, Salem High School, the West Salem Presbyterian Church and numerous views of Oregon’s second capitol building which burned in 1935. Nearby structures and government buildings include the bandstand in Wilson Park, the Supreme Court Building, the Oregon Department of Justice Building and the new Oregon State Capital which was dedicated in 1938.

Along with being the seat of state government, Salem is also the county seat for Marion County which is represented by views of the Marion County Courthouse. Views of other state institutions include the Oregon State Hospital Administration Building, the School for Deaf Mutes (Oregon School for the Deaf), State Blind School (Oregon School for the Blind), the Oregon State Fair and the Oregon State Penitentiary (Oregon State Prison). Other notable buildings in Salem include the Carnegie Library, the Masonic Temple building, the Salem Flouring Mills, Thomas Kay Woolen Mill, Willamette University campus with Eaton and Waller Halls, the E. W. Waite Electric Fountain and the interior of the Meier and Frank Department store. There are a number of views of the Willamette River including a dredge scene with Spaulding Lumber and the paper plant in the background, the Portland, Eugene and Eastern Railroad Bridge dedicated in 1913.

Around 1866 Scotts Mills, Oregon, a small town northeast of Silverton, was named for Robert Hall Scott and Thomas Scott who established a sawmill and flour mill on the town site. There are images of logging in Brooks, Oregon and logs floating in the Luckiamute River in southern Polk County, near the Wildwood School. Other Oregon industries are depicted with images of Oregon strawberry fields, men in ties picking apples and rows of loganberry near Salem. Joseph Watt founded the town of Amity, Oregon with his brother Ahio between 1848 and 1849. Joseph Watt later established Oregon’s first woolen mill in nearby Salem and in 1868 shipped wheat to England which was the first Oregon wheat to be sent around Cape Horn.

North of Amity is McMinnville, Oregon which boasted its “good roads” in the early 20th century. In 1858 the Baptist College was established in McMinnville which was renamed Linfield College in 1922. In addition to early views of the college there are images of Baker Falls, the Presbyterian Church, Yamhill County Courthouse, the large wooden auditorium in the city park and the Yamhill Sawmill. Founded in the mid-1840s, nearby Lafayette was the site of a picturesque wooden bridge on the Yamhill River. In 1898 work began on concrete locks to assist river commerce which began in the early 1850s. The locks were closed in 1954 due to limited use and increases in operation expenses and were removed in 1965 to increase fish runs on the river.

South of Lafayette is the small town of Dayton which was established in 1848-1849 by Joel Palmer. There is a north view of Dayton showing the town, with its waterfront and the steeple of the brick church in the distance. One of the most notable structures in Dayton is the Fort Yamhill or Grand Ronde blockhouse which was constructed in 1856 as a refuge for settlers in case of attack by Native Americans. After Fort Yamhill closed in the mid-1860s the blockhouse was moved to Valley Junction and used as a jail. In 1911 John G. Lewis, a patriotic Dayton resident had the structure moved to a city park in Dayton to honor Joel Palmer.

Woodburn, Oregon is located southeast of Dayton, on Highway 99E, and is shown in the early 1900s. There is also a postcard titled Mine near Woodburn, Oregon which may actually be located further east in the mining district of Marion County. Further north on Highway 99E are the Daffodil Gardens pictured with Mount Hood, Horse Shoe Park promotion and the Real-Rest Sanitarium at the Hubbard Mineral Springs near Hubbard, Oregon.

Another well known Oregon mineral spring was the Wilhoit Mineral Springs, east of Scott’s Mills, which was established in the 1870s. Postcards show the resort at its heyday in the early 1900s, with log cottages, mineral spring houses, a log clubhouse and campgrounds with campers in suits and white dresses. The resort remained popular into the 1950s though fires had destroyed a number of the original buildings during that time. In October 1962, the Columbus Day Storm demolished the last of the original buildings and the site later became a county park.

Southeast of the Portland metropolitan area are the cities of Mollala, Estacada and Oregon City. Along with rare double view stereoscopes of downtown Mollala, taken in 1910, there are a number of views taken along the Clackamas River. The river was harnessed for power in the early 20th Century with the River Mill power plant and dam, near Estacada, the dam and fish ladder at Cazadero two miles north of Estacada and the Clackamas River Dam. The Estacada Hotel opened in 1904 and was later known as the Promenade Hotel until it was destroyed by fire in 1936. West of Estacada is the small town of Viola which is represented with a photo of the “house the Charles built”. Further to the west, on the Willamette River, is Aurora which was the site of a German religious colony which began in the 1850 with the construction of a two-story hewn log cabin which is featured in the collection.

To the west and southwest of Portland are Orenco and the cities of Forest Grove and Newberg. The name Orenco was a contraction taken from the Oregon Nursery Company, which built this company town in the early twentieth century. It is not known whether this company also constructed the mill at Orenco included in the collection. Forest Grove was established in the mid-1840s and in 1849 the Tualatin Academy was established which later grew into Pacific University. Along with early views of downtown Forest Grove and the Methodist Episcopal Church there are postcards depicting Marsh Hall, on the Pacific University campus and the petrified stump commemorating the first home of the university. South of Forest Grove is the town of Carlton which is represented with a view of several residences.

In the early 1840s the Hudson Bay Company constructed a warehouse on the Willamette River south of Oregon City at Champoeg. A small town grew up around the warehouse and in 1843 Champoeg was the site for the vote which established Oregon’s first Provisional Government. While all the buildings in town were washed away in the flood of 1861, the town site has remained an important historic site for Oregon history. In 1901 a monument was erected to honor the first American Government established on the west coast and in 1930 the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) constructed and furnished a log cabin to honor the pioneer mothers. Later the Oregon Society of the DAR purchased and reconstructed the nearby home of Dr. Robert Newell (1807-1869) for the Oregon Centennial in 1959.

Early views along with Willamette River include a picturesque scene of the Balancing Rock near Portland, Oregon and the Southern Pacific Railroad winding beside wheat fields along the river, south of Oregon City. The railroad tracks were maintained, in part, by a bonding crew which is shown working on a section of track near Dundee, Oregon. Traveling west out of Portland is the Sunset Highway which was originally known as the Wolf Creek Highway that was constructed in the early 1930s. The Quartz Creek Bridge was constructed along with the roadway. North of the highway, in eastern Clatsop County is the town of Jewell which had a thriving lumber industry in the nearby forests.

South of Forest Grove is the town of Gaston which is represented with an early street scene. Farther south, near the Willamette River is the town of Newberg known for its orchards and agriculture. There are several panoramas of the town taken from Chehalem Mountain showing a variety of crops being grown in the Chehalem Valley. There are several street scenes, and a view of the Spaulding Sawmill with an enormous wooden platform being constructed on site.

Extent: 423 images, 5 folders
Box-Folder 8.1-8.5 Add to Shelf
Series 9: Columbia River Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1890-2000, Bulk: 1900-1950 Add to Shelf

Format: There are 13 contemporary duplicate prints, two from the Oregon Historical Society, two A. G. Vareta prints, one Ray M. Filloon print and eight from unidentified sources. The bulk of the 619 postcards are sepia toned and black and white photographs with some color lithographed and contemporary images. The remaining 68 original photographs include 46 images from professional photographers, 14 snapshots and 8 original photogravures by Benjamin A. Gifford.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards and photographs which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Wesley Andrews Company (Portland, Oregon), Boyer, Brubaker, Brubaker Aerial Surveys (Portland, Oregon), Coe Photo, Columbia Photo Service, Cross & Dimmitt (Corbett, Oregon), Christian, Detroit Photographic Company, Eddy, Ellis, Ray M. Filloon, Fitzpatrick Photo, Foard & Stokes Company (Astoria, Oregon), Benjamin A. Gifford (The Dalles, Oregon), Ralph I. Gifford (Portland, Oregon), Gifford & Prentiss (Portland, Oregon), Hale, Hicks Chatten Engraving Company (Portland, Oregon), C. P. Johnston Company, Fred H. Kiser, Kiser Photo Company (Portland, Oregon), Samuel Lancaster (Portland, Oregon), E. E. Lavalleur, Leo’s Studio (Spokane, Washington), B. C. Markham (The Dalles, Oregon), National, Oakes, Olds, Wortman & King (Portland, Oregon), Pictorial, Rawlins (Portland, Oregon), C. S. Reeves, Sawyer Scenic Photos (Portland, Oregon), Sawyer’s, Simmer, Smith, Van Winkle Photo, A. G. Vareta, WPS, Ward Brothers (Columbus, Ohio), Carleton E. Watkins (reprint), Weister Company, G. Weister & Company (Portland, Oregon), O. W. Whitman (Astoria, Oregon), Wilson Studio (Astoria, Oregon), Frank Woodfield.

Narrative Description: These folders consist of images documenting scenic views, industries and towns in the Columbia River Gorge around the first half of the 20th century. The Columbia River is the boundary between much of Oregon and Washington and has a long history of Native American settlement, water, rail and automobile transportation along with numerous hydroelectric dams. In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, boats and railroads carried passengers and freight, such as lumber and fish, to market. With the increasing popularity of the automobile, the Historic Columbia River Highway was constructed in the gorge from 1913-1922 to enable travelers to experience the scenic wonders of the gorge. Many of the postcards and photographs document this scenic highway prior to the construction of a freeway bypass in the early 1950s. Due to its unique natural and historic features, the Columbia River Gorge was designated a National Scenic Area in 1986 and the Historic Columbia River Highway became a National Historic Landmark in 2000.

Complementing the Columbia River Highway on the Washington side of the Columbia River is the Evergreen Highway, which becomes the Lewis and Clark Highway in the Ash Lake area. Views along the Evergreen Highway include the railroad bridge over the Klickitat River, Columbia River Bluffs, Wallula Gap and the Bridge of the Gods, completed in 1926. Additional images include postcards of Skamania Lodge, constructed in 1993, the bath house at Moffett’s Springs, Washington and the boat landing at Stevenson. In 1937 the Bonneville Dam was completed to provide flood control, hydroelectric power and jobs during the Great Depression. Along with the dam, construction included a number of administration buildings and residences, fish ladders and a fish counting station along with shipping locks.

Earlier in century the banks of the Columbia River were dotted with logging camps, including one at Bridal Veil Falls. Logging trains may have been used to transport the logs to the river where they were chained together in large rafts for transport downstream. A handwritten note on the back of the Bridal Veil Falls postcard reads, “Here is a view of [a] logging train at the Portland Lumber Company. Landing [a] few miles up the river of (sic) us.” At that time steamships, such as the Bailey Gatzert named for a Seattle mayor, travelled the river carrying passengers and freight. To accommodate river traffic at a cascade in the river, the Cascade Locks were constructed between 1878 and 1896 and are documented with a number of period postcards. These locks were submerged with the completion of the Bonneville Dam in the late 1930s.

The Oneonta Gorge, on the Columbia River, was named by noted photographer Carleton Watkins after his hometown in Oneonta, New York. Watkins was the first to photograph this picturesque natural formation which became more accessible to visitors, for hikes and picnics, after the completion of the Columbia River Highway. Along with the natural beauty of the Columbia River Gorge, the river was also home to a range of fish including Salmon, Steelhead Trout and Sturgeon. The modern salmon canning industry began on the river with the construction of the Hapgood, Hume and Company cannery in 1866. By 1883, the combined production of 39 canneries exceeded 42,000,000 pounds which owed its success to net fishing, known as seining.

There are views of various styles of fish wheels that were constructed on the Columbia River from the late 1870s until the outlawing of their use in 1928. They all are based on a similar concept of using a fence, or weir, to guide fish swimming upstream into a large rotating wheel which is powered by river water flowing downstream. The wheel scoops the fish out of the river and into a holding pen, known as a fish box, where they can be speared. Over the years the use of fish wheels drew lawsuits from Native Americans, who lost their traditional fishing sites to cannery fish wheels, and from sport fishers who were concerned about overfishing the river. Voters eventually passed laws which prohibited fish wheels on the Columbia River, first in Oregon in 1928 and later in Washington in 1935.

Other scenic points of interest along the river include Rooster Rock, where Lewis and Clark camped in November 1805, Cape Horn, Lone Rock, Castle Rock, Washington’s Beacon Rick, Wind Mountain, St. Peter’s Dome, the Pillars of Hercules, the Needles, Thumb Needle, Pilot Rock and Owl Rock.

The Oregon Department of Transportation describes the Columbia River Highway as “the pinnacle of early-20th-century rural highway design created to take visitors to the Columbia River Gorge's most breathtaking and beautiful natural wonders and scenic vistas.” The Williams Collections includes views of: Shepperd’s Dell bridge, the Latourelle Bridge, Bradley Park, the Tunnel at Oneonta Gorge, the “Rotary Wheel” near Wahkeena Falls, Bishops Caps, Inspiration Point and Cathedral Peak. Scenic waterfalls include: Mist Falls and lodge, Bridal Veil Falls, Latourelle Falls, Wahkeena Falls, Necktie Falls, Horsetail Falls and Fairy Falls. Also included are images of bridges, vistas and seasonal views.

Along with views of the natural features along the 75 mile Columbia River Highway there are also postcards highlighting structures and the roadway itself on the landscape. Images include: the Sam Hill Monument, Menucha Retreat and Conference Center, Chanticleer Inn (1912-1930), Crown Point, Vista House, Moffett Creek Bridge, the “Figure Eight”, Rowena Loops, Eagle Creek Trail, Bonneville Tunnel, Twin Tunnels, Mitchell’s Point Tunnel, Eagle Creek Bridge and Tooth Rock.

The McNary Dam was constructed on the Columbia River from 1947-1954 north of Hermiston, Oregon. Along with the dam, construction included an administration building, residences, a fish ladder and shipping locks. Upriver from the dam is the Wallula Gap and downriver is the town of Arlington at the mouth of the Alkali Canyon. Continuing downriver, 34 miles west of Arlington, is Biggs Junction, Oregon which is across the river from the Maryhill Museum of Art, the Stonehenge Memorial, and the Meadow Lark Inn in Washington. Between Wishram, Washington, near the former site of Celilo Falls and The Dalles, there are a number of rock formations in the river which hamper river traffic but once created important areas for Native American salmon fishing. In the early 1900s, the Dalles-Celilo Canal, was constructed to allow steamboats and barges to pass around these huge series of waterfalls in the river. With the construction of the Bonneville Dam, in the late 1930s, the traditional fishing areas at Celilo Falls were flooded and remain under the waters of the Columbia River.

Along with fishing, early in the 20th century the Columbia River basin on the Oregon side was known for its farms, orchards and lumber operations. Along with the fertile soil and endless water in this area, the beauty of the Columbia River was enjoyed by workers at the Jewett Farm and orchards along the river. Outside Hood River, Oregon, farmers had views of the majestic Mt. Hood from their orchards and strawberry fields. Logging operations were active near the Northwestern Power Company’s lake and at the Green Point Mill’s log pond where the mile and a half log flume from Palmer to Bridal Veil terminated.

Hood River, Oregon is situated on the Columbia River across from White Salmon, Washington. In the early days it was the site of a busy railroad depot and the Mt. Hood Hotel. In 1924, the Hood River Bridge was constructed to connect these two cities and is the second oldest bridge across the Columbia River. Along with several views of the bridge prior to being raised to accommodate the higher waters created by the Bonneville Dam, the collection includes early views of the Hood River Telephone Company and the high school. West of Hood River is the historic Columbia River Hotel which was constructed in 1921 in a palatial Mediterranean-style with spectacular views up and down the river. In addition to the river, other natural features near Hood River, Oregon include: Lullaby Falls and the Devil’s Punch Bowl.

Across the river in White Salmon, Washington, there is an early view of Jewett Avenue, now Jewett Boulevard, with a large tree growing in the middle of the street and some later views from the mid-1920s. Traveling west over 20 miles along the Lewis & Clark and Evergreen Highways, is the Fort Rains blockhouse which was constructed in 1927 as a memorial to military activity in the area. Williams includes images of the Middle Blockhouse, which was constructed by General Sheridan’s troops near Stevenson, Washington in 1855, and Fort Cascades Blockhouse constructed in the late 1850s. Near White Salmon is also a power dam and enclose flume.

In the Carson River Valley, west of White Salmon, are the Shipherd’s Springs resort and the St. Martins Mineral Spring and Hotel St. Martin. Along the Wind River, which winds its way through the Carson River Valley, is Big Falls and the Upper Wind River Falls. It is not exactly clear where the Collins Hot Mineral Spring Hotel, with its pavilion and store, or the town of Collins was located in Washington. Along Rock Creek, near Stevenson, Washington, are the Upper Rock Creek Falls and the Lower Falls. East of White Salmon the Klickitat River has carved its way through the landscape creating beautiful gorges with a view of Mt. Hood in the background.

Gresham, Oregon, east or Portland, was named for Walter Q. Gresham a Civil War soldier and presidential candidate in 1884 and 1888. Gerald Williams has included views of Powell Street and the Gresham Public School. The Interstate Bridge, which crosses the Columbia River between Portland and Vancouver, was constructed between 1915 and 1917. This bridge complemented two earlier railroad bridges across the Columbia River near Portland, the North Bank Railroad Bridge, and the Spokane, Portland and Seattle Railroad Bridge. Farther downstream from Portland, the Longview-Rainier Bridge crosses the Columbia River at Rainier, Oregon. This small river town was named after Rear Admiral Peter Rainer, as was Mount Rainer in Washington, and there are view of Main street showing a wide street with railroad tracks and rows of wooden buildings.

There are a number of images from various locations throughout northwest Oregon including the Upper Falls near Scappoose, Oregon, a colorful armada of sailboats on the Columbia with the Trojan Nuclear Power plant in the background and a view of the Court House Plaza in St. Helens, Oregon around 1940. In nearby Clatskanie and Vernonia, the lumber industry relied on the waters of the Columbia River and railroads to transport logs to area lumber mills. In the woods between these two towns are thousands of acres of forest lands, which were originally logged with steam donkeys mounted on railroad cars, and Beaver Falls. An early view of a mill shows a Wigwam Burner where sawdust and other milling refuse was burned. Due to the air pollution created by the smoke and ash from these incinerators, and growing interest in using wood by-products for making paper and landscaping bark, the Wigwam Burners in Oregon were phased out in the 1970s.

Near Astoria, Oregon, at the mouth of the Columbia River, the Columbia River Highway’s Widby Loops wind through the landscape. Millions of pounds of salmon were caught with small net boats and horse-drawn seining nets and sent to local canneries. In addition to salmon, this area was also known for its sturgeon, oysters and smelt. Astoria is also the site of Fort Clatsop where Meriwether Lewis and William Clark wintered over 1805-1806. By 1811 the Pacific Fur Company, owned by John Jacob Astor, was the first commercial settlement on the Pacific Coast. Replicas of both of these early settlements have been constructed in Astoria. There are also views of Astoria’s centennial celebration in 1911 and the city reservoir.

The Astoria Column was constructed in 1926 with funding from the Great Northern Railway and Vincent Astor, the great- grandson of John Jacob Astor. The 125 foot column, located on Coxcomb Hill, is decorated with a spiral sgraffitto frieze on the face of the column which measures nearly seven feet high and 525 feet long. By the early 1980s weather and other environmental factors had seriously diminished the original exterior murals which were restored in the mid-1990s. From the top of the column visitors may view the Astoria-Megler Bridge at the mouth of the Columbia River and out to the Pacific Ocean. A postcard in the collection also shows this panoramic view prior to the construction of the bridge in the mid-1960s.

There are also a number of historic views of Astoria including a view up Commercial Street during a winter snow storm. Also included are early color images of Oregon’s first Custom House, constructed in 1852 and the first Post Office west of the Rocky Mountains, constructed in Astoria in 1847. This early wood framed building was later replaced with a two-story stone structure located near the Court House. Another notable building was the St. Mary’s Hospital which opened in 1880 and was the only hospital in the region until the early 1900s. It appears this building survived the devastating fires which consumed 30 blocks of downtown Astoria on December 8, 1922.  A view of the fire damage at 14th and Commercial Streets in downtown Astoria is included.

Complementing Astoria’s fishing industry, which included a fleet of fishing boats, netting salmon and canning fish at the Union Fisherman’s Co-Operative Packing Company, there was the Astoria Motor Boat Construction Company which made small fishing boats in the early 1920s. Astoria also had a thriving waterfront of wharves, municipal docks and warehouses. After the World War II Astoria also became the home of the U.S. Navy Fleet Reserve. This was a storage facility for surplus cargo vessels and at one time had over 500 vessels storing in the waters around the city before operations ceased in 1963. Other water related scenes in the collection are postcards of the Regatta at Astoria in 1910 and August, 1912 and a Salmon Derby in the mid-1950s.

Crossing Young’s Bay, southwest of Astoria, is the Young’s Bay Bridge completed in 1921. On nearby Young’s River is a picturesque waterfall possibly in the vicinity of an unidentified lake featuring groups of water lilies floating in the water. At one time there was also a railroad bridge across Young’s Bay which connected with Seaside. In later years the Astoria North Beach Ferry Company transported people and vehicles to Megler, Washington.

Large log rafts, destined for California, were shipped out of Astoria. The large log rafts, held together with chains, were constructed in big wooden cradles. The rafts were freed from the cradles and towed downstream with boats. These rafts, containing millions of feet of lumber, were floated out to sea and transported to California where they were milled into lumber. Other ships which travelled the waters near Astoria are the Steamer T.J. Potter, the Columbia and the Steamer San Pedro which sank in the Columbia.

Extent: 700 images, 7 folders
Box-Folder 9.1-10.2 Add to Shelf
Series 10: Portland/ Oregon City Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1850-1987, Bulk: 1900-1950 Add to Shelf

Format: There is 1 contemporary duplicate print from unidentified sources. The bulk of the 329 postcards are sepia toned and black and white photographs with some color lithographed and contemporary images. The remaining 35 original photographs include 1 portrait, 15 images from professional photographers, 17 snapshots and photographs by nonprofessionals and 2 from other sources along with a map and a card.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards and photographs which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Wesley Andrews, Brubaker Aerial Surveys (Portland, Oregon), Christian, Cross & Dimmit, Eddy, Electric Studio, Gifford, Huntley Brothers Co. (Oregon City, Oregon), Kiser Brothers (Portland, Oregon), McDermid & Bell (St. Johns, Oregon), Morgan Company (Portland, Oregon), D.A. Ovens, Pictorial, Woodruff Raymond, Sawyers, Prentiss, Sawyer’s Scenic Photos (Portland, Oregon), Smith, Ralph Vincent (Portland, Oregon), J. Weinstein and Weister Company.

Narrative Description: This album consists of images documenting the natural features, industries and built environment from Oregon City, Oregon to Portland, Oregon. In 1829 Dr. John McLoughlin, chief factor of the Hudson’s Bay Company, secured a land claim at the site of Oregon City which he laid out and named in 1842. Due to its proximity to the Willamette River, and the spectacular Willamette Falls, Oregon City soon became an important industrial center for lumber, paper and woolen mills. In the early 1840s, settlement along the Willamette River, north of Oregon City, eventually grew into the town of Portland, which was named with a coin toss in 1845. Portland’s navigable river, deep harbor and gently sloping topography spurred fast-paced growth of the city. By 1900 there were 90, 426 people living in Portland, which doubled over the next 10 years to 207, 214 following the 1905 Lewis and Clark Centennial Exposition.

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries log rafts dotted the Willamette River at Oregon City. The raw logs were often transported by rail to the Willamette River where they were bound with large metal chains into large floating rafts. The rafts were later transported to various mills along the Willamette River where the lumber was processed into lumber or paper. Views of Oregon City, Oregon range from scenic panoramas from the early 1900s, including a tinted image of the McLoughlin Institute, to a candid shot of McLoughlin Boulevard, Oregon Route 99E, taken from the center lane. There are a variety of images showing the spectacular Willamette Falls at Oregon City, whose waters provided opportunities for fishing and industrial development.

In 1909 Dr. John McLoughlin’s two-story white frame house by the Willamette River was threatened with demolition. Local citizens formed the McLoughlin Memorial Association to preserve and interpret the home of Oregon City’s founder, which they moved, restored and opened as a museum in 1910. Postcards show the McLoughlin House in its original and new locations, and interior view of the restored house, the McLoughlin graves at St. John’s Church and several early portraits of the “Father of Oregon.” Other historic homes in the area include the Barclay House, constructed by Dr. Forbes Barclay, a surgeon a Fort Vancouver, in 1846 and Rose Farm the meeting site of Oregon’s first Territorial Legislature in 1849. Across the river from Oregon City lies Gladstone, which was developed in the 1890s and became well known for the large Chautauqua Auditorium in the Gladstone Park.

Williams has followed images of Oregon City, Oregon with a variety of scenes in and around the Portland area. There are aerial views of Hillsboro’s Shute Park and Washington County along with scenic views of the Washington County Courthouse and Tigard’s Union High School. There are early views of the U. S. Customs House, Reed College and the Willamette River at Sellwood before and after the construction of the Sellwood Bridge in 1925. Numerous aerial and panoramic views of Portland show the city in the early 1900s, the 1940s and in to the early 1970s. There are several early views of the Portland Harbor and Waterfront with scenes of the U.S.S. Constitution’s visit to Portland, on May 13, 1933, and the battleship Oregon which was “Permanently anchored at the East End of the Broadway Bridge” from 1925-1942.

Scenes of the Portland Harbor include picturesque views of the “new” Morrison Street Bridge, constructed for pedestrian and streetcar traffic in 1905, the Broadway Bridge, Hawthorne Bridge, O.W.R. & N. (Oregon-Washington Railroad and Navigation Company) Bridge, Burnside Bridge, St. Johns Bridge and an early Steel Bridge on the Willamette River. Downtown views include: Broadway, First Avenue during the 1894 flood, Fifth Avenue, Front Street, Morrison Street showing the Hotel Portland, the Portland Post Office Building and the Oregonian Building and recreational areas such as the Roosevelt Statue in the Park Blocks and Plaza Block Park. There are views of the Arlington Club, Hotel Mallory and Multnomah Hotel as well as other well-known Portland buildings such as the Lloyd Center, Meier & Frank Department Store, North Pacific Industrial Association Building, Pittock Mansion, St. Vincent’s Hospital, Union Depot, Veteran’s Hospital and the Yeon Building. Portland schools also featured are Buckman High School, Jefferson High School, Portland Academy, West Side High School, and the Willamette University Medical School.

Over the years Portland, Oregon has been the site of several notable expositions, fairs and celebrations. In 1905 the Lewis and Clark Centennial Exposition and Oriental Fair celebrated the 200th anniversary of Lewis and Clark’s famous journey west in 1802. Over 2.5 million people attended the fair to view the Auditorium Building, Forestry Building, Foreign Exhibits Building, Government Building, Lakeview Terrace and Grand Stairway, Manufacturers and Liberal Arts Building along with state exhibition buildings featuring Alaska, California, Idaho, Massachusetts, New York, Oregon and Washington. In 1959 the Oregon Centennial Expositional and International Trade Fair celebrated 100 years of statehood with a regional extravaganza which Williams documented with a number of souvenir postcards. Other well-known Portland festivals are the Rose Festival that began in 1907, and the Elks Parade of 1912, that featured a number of wooden pylons with electric lights lining Seventh Street at Morrison and various parade scenes.

In 1915 over half a million school children signed a petition asking the city of Philadelphia to send the original Liberty Bell to the Panama-Pacific Exposition in San Francisco. The priceless symbol of American freedom traveled cross county and arrived in Portland on July 15, 1915 to a crowd of patriotic Oregonians. Other scenes of Portland include the reservoir at Washington Park, the monastery and gardens at the Sanctuary of Our Sorrowful Mother, views of various parks, the Soldiers’ Monument in Plaza Park and the Theodore Roosevelt Rough River Monument on the Park Blocks near the Portland Art Museum. There are also views of various recreational areas including: Dreamland of the Northwest, located at the top of Council Crest from 1907-1929; the Zooliner at the Portland Zoo; Thompson Fountain in Plaza Park; Coming of the White Man statue in Washington Park, Sacajawea Monument in Washington Park, Loyola House of Retreat and Oaks amusement park.

In the spring of 1948 the Columbia River was swollen with runoff from unusually heavy snow pack melting in the northwestern United States and southern Canada. Flood waters were inundating Union Station and were threatening to overflow the banks of the Willamette River. On the afternoon of May 30, 1948 the railroad dike protecting the nearby city of Vanport was breached, sending a 10 foot wall of water into the low lying residential community. Constructed in 1943 for workers at the Kaiser Shipyard, Vanport residents were 40 percent African American who lived virtually segregated lives from the majority white residents. Although a college was established at Vanport in 1946, simmering race relations and anger over slow government response to the disaster heightened controversy over the destruction of the city.

There are a number of aerial views of the flooding along with a series of selected souvenir snapshots such as one titled “Vanport City, Ore. Destroyed by the Mighty Columbia River”. Williams ended the photographs of the Portland and Oregon City with a view of a draw-span bridge over the Willamette River that was the longest in the world, images of the lighthouse at the confluence of the Willamette and Columbia Rivers, and an early view of the Portland-Columbia Airport which later became the Portland International Airport.

Extent: 329 images, 3 folders
Box-Folder 11.1-11.3 Add to Shelf
Series 11: Southern Coast Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1857-1970, Bulk: 1900-1950 Add to Shelf

Format: There are 2 contemporary duplicate prints from the Douglas County Museum and 6 from unidentified sources. The bulk of the 271 postcards are sepia toned and black and white photographs with some color lithographed and contemporary images. The remaining 36 original photographs include 6 portraits, 5 images from professional photographers, 25 snapshots and photographs by nonprofessionals.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards and photographs which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Ace, Wesley Andrews, Burke, Christian, Collett Photo, Craxell Photo, Dotson Photo (Eugene, Oregon), Eddy, Glaxier, Harwood Photo, Hazeltine Photo, Kinsey Photo (Seattle, Washington), Laws, E.F. Martin (Eugene, Oregon), Miller Photo, Norton & Hanse?, Arthur M. Prentiss, Rawlings (Portland, Oregon), C. S. Reeves, Sands, Sawyer Scenic Photos (Portland, Oregon), Sawyers, Schoab, Smith, Stickney, Stratton, White and Windsor Photo.

Narrative Description: These folders consist of images documenting the scenery, towns and industries on the South Oregon coast from Gardiner south to Brookings. Establish in 1852, Reedsport was named from Alfred W. Reed who founded the town in 1912 with the coming of the railroad south to Coos Bay. The town is situated inland from the Oregon coast on the Umpqua River estuary. South of Reedsport on the coast are the Umpqua Lighthouse, the Umpqua Coast Guard Station and a jetty situated at the mouth of the Umpqua River. An 1857 view of the area shows an Indian Plank House which is labeled as Fort Umpqua. Fort Vancouver was actually established by the Hudson Bay Company in 1836 and consisted of a square stockade with a 12 foot wall of logs.

North of Reedsport is Gardiner which was named for a Boston merchant whose ship was wrecked off the mouth of the Umpqua River in 1850. Gardiner, with the nearby Smith River Falls and Five Mile Lake, was surrounded by heavily forested mountains. The town was perfectly situated to take advantage of the growing lumber industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Lumber was shipped from the Gardiner Mill Wharf from 1885 to 1918, cut from area timber. Spruce trees, some up to 12 feet in diameter, were cut by hand with axes and long saws then transported out of the mountains in a system of log flumes. Other images from the Reedsport-Gardiner area include views of Lake Tahkenitch, the Reedsport Bridge on Highway 101 and a railroad bridge in the Reedsport area.

South of Reedsport is Ten Mile Lake and the town of Lakeside, home of the Currier Village Resort on the shore of Ten Mile Lake. A postcard shows nearby Clear Lake which boasts of being the “Reedsport Water Supply.” A little farther south, on Highway 101, was the Whale Bone Inn at Hauser. This town was established as a station along with Southern Pacific Railroad line and is situated between Beale and Horsfall Lakes. North of Lakeside on Highway 101, is Winchester Bay home to the Stockade Tackle Shop. There are several early views of the bay including a ship placing buoys in the bay and of the South Umpqua Jetty.

Originally known as Marshfield, the town of Coos Bay is situated along Highway 101 south of Reedsport, Winchester Bay and Lakeside on the bay. In 1944 the town voted to change the name to Coos Bay but retained North Bend for the town immediately to the north. A number of panoramic views show the town with wooden buildings constructed right up to the bayfront. Other postcards include the ducks at Mingus Park, local industry, such as the International Cedar Company and Marshfield Senior High School. On January 25, 1911 a rare snowstorm blanketed downtown Marshfield which was captured from a second story window.

Over the years Coos Bay milling lumber and shipping have been important for the town’s prosperity and growth. Additional panoramas of Marshfield depict the lumber and shipping industries in the early 20th century. For years, companies such as the C.A. Smith Mill, in Coos Bay and others shipped their processed lumber from the port. Firms such as the Coos Lumber Company, transported logs and lumber by rail, while others used log rafts or steamships. In addition to the lumber industry, the Coos Bay-North Bend area was known for sturgeon and commercial fishing.

The waters of the Pacific Ocean at Coos Bay have been the site of a number of shipping disasters over the years. In November 1915 the steamship Santa Clara struck and uncharted sandbar or reef with 91 passengers and 500 tons of cargo. The captain allowed the ship to drift toward shore, but heavy surf, fog, steady rain and darkness hindered rescue efforts which resulted in twelve deaths. After several days the stricken ship was plundered by locals and arson fires eventually destroyed the ship. Five years yearly, in January 1910, the Czarina left Coos Bay loaded with cement, coal and lumber headed for San Francisco. At the mouth of Coos Bay the ship encountered heavy waves which eventually flooded the ship and smashed or washed away many of the lifeboats. All but one member of the crew perished from exposure and drowning.

Along the south shore of the opening into Coos Bay is Shore Acres, the former home of timber baron Louis J. Simpson, which is now part of the Oregon State Park system. Further inland is Charleston and the Coos River which flows into the bay. The Coos River is known for its excellent trout fishing and beautiful scenery. Over the years the Coos Bay area has been an important logging area with a log dump at Daniels Creek and special log cars pulled along the railroad tracks with cables. Among the natural wonders are Silver Falls and Golden Falls on the North Coos River.

In 1936 the Conde B. McCullough Memorial Bridge, named for the noted Oregon bridge designer, was constructed across Coos Bay at North Bend. Southwest of the bridge, on the ocean front is Coos Head which marks the entrance to the bay. Southwest of Coos Head is Sunset Bay, Shore Acres State Park and the lighthouse at Cape Arago named for Dominique Francois Jean Arago (1786-1853) a noted French physicist and geographer. Cape Arago is also the site of the U.S. Coast Guard Station near Charleston, Oregon.

Approximately 20 miles south of Cape Arago is Bandon, Oregon with its unique Natureland Auto Park “A Fairyland of Beauty and Art, Located on Bandon Beach Loop Road.” Complete with a Dutch inspired windmill and rustic shingled cottage, little historical information is available on this unusual vacation stop. On the ocean shoreline at Bandon are Face or Sphinx Rock, Cave of the Winds or Cave Rock and various beach and cliff scenes. Bandon area structures include the Life Guard Station perched high above the beach and Lighthouse #5 (or Coquille River lighthouse) on the mouth of the Coquille River. During the heyday of lumbering, the Coquille River was used to transport log rafts from the wooded mountains to the bay along with log drives which ended in the early 1940s. There is even a rare view of the steamboat “Coquille” and the S. S. Elizabeth traveling on the Coquille River as well as the Antelope loaded with a huge salmon catch.

Upriver from Bandon is Coquille, Oregon with its three story clapboard public school and unique Coos County courthouse. For many years Coos County has been an important lumber producing area which Williams has documented with several postcards depicting lumberjacks laying in huge sawcuts or standing by large fallen trunks. Upriver from Coquille is Myrtle Point, which is situated in the Coquille Canyon, with Powers, Oregon 20 miles south of Myrtle Point. Powers was named in 1914 for A.H. Powers of the Smith-Powers Logging Company. Scenes from Powers show Bill standing and waving from atop a 150 spar tree as well as a significant gathering of deerskins and trophy mounts. There is the old Swimming Hole at Orchard Park and the railroad yard of the Smith-Powers Lumber Company with numerous railcars loaded with large trees.

Almost due west of Powers on the Oregon coast is the Cape Blanco Lighthouse which is the most western point on the coast. There are ocean scenes along the Roosevelt Highway near Port Orford including Nellie’s Cove, Battle Rock where Captain William Tichenor and his crew fought with the native population on June 10, 1851 and Mother Carey’s Chickens with Humbug Mountain. In 1931 the beautiful Rogue River Bridge was completed at Gold Beach and is shown in a variety of scenes with anglers in boats and lining the shore fishing for salmon and trout. Gold Beach images also include the Sunset Inn, the Rogue-Au-Tel Cabins, The Breakers Inn and the “smallest Catholic Church in the United States”.

This southern part of the Oregon Coast is also the home of myrtle trees which reportedly only grow here and “in the Holy Land.” Traveling south along the ocean on Highway 101 is Brookings with its Arch Rock and towering redwood trees. The Chetco River, which flows into the sea at Brookings, was also used to transport logs from the mountains to the lumber mills of Brookings. For years the Chetco River was also a well-known spawning ground for Oregon salmon.

Extent: 315 images, 3 folders
Box-Folder 12.1-12.3 Add to Shelf
Series 12: Mohawk (Lane County) Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1890-1980, Bulk: 1900-1970 Add to Shelf

Format: There are 2 contemporary duplicate prints from the University of Oregon and 2 from the USDA Forest Service. Also there is 1 print from the Oregon Historical Society, 1 from USDA Alfred Collier Collection and 1 from Southern Pacific Company. The bulk of the 16 postcards are sepia toned with black and white photographs, some color lithographed and contemporary images. The remaining 18 original photographs include 3 portraits, and 15 snapshots and photographs by nonprofessionals.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards and photographs which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the back of the print. Photographers include: Fred W. Cleator, G.E. Griffith, and [A.L.] Thomas.

Narrative Description: This album contains images documenting the scenery, towns and industries in the Mohawk region of Lane County and a few images documenting the Willamette National Forest region by Oakridge, Oregon. The Mohawk River was named by Jacob C. Spores, a pioneer in the 1840s. A post office named after the river was established in1862 and was located seven miles upstream of Springfield, Oregon; the station was terminated in 1961.

The town of Marcola, formerly known as Isabel, is documented. The town was named Isabel in 1857 after an early settler. After the railroad was built through the valley, the post office name was changed in 1901 to Marcola to match the station name. The town’s founder, Christopher Cole, chose Marcola to honor his wife, Mary Cole. Complementing the images of the post office and founder Christopher Cole are images of early community members and the homes they lived in.

Established in 1878, the town of Mabel was named for Maud Mabel Drury, who was a daughter of the first postmaster, Alfred Drury. Mabel is located north of Marcola on the confluence of Shotgun Creek and the Mohawk River. The post office in Mabel was discontinued in 1957. Located between Mabel and Marcola is one of Lane County’s historic covered bridge titled Earnest Bridge. Accompanying photographs that document the area are envelopes from the Greater Eugene Stamp Society. Each envelope depicts a miniature picture of a town’s post office and provides information about the town. The information for Mabel tells how the post office caught fire while the photographer was taking the picture and the process had to be stopped in order to put out the fire.

Wendling was established in 1899 and was named for George X. Wendling, a prominent Pacific Coast lumberman and director at one time of the Booth-Kelly Lumber Company. Wendling was a Booth-Kelly Lumber Company town. At the time it was established it held 250 inhabitants. The mill was closed due to the lack of timber and then burned down in the year of 1946; the post office was closed in 1952. The Wendling Covered Bridge located on Mill Creek is one of the few remaining landmarks of Wendling. Documented in this collection are several postcards featuring Wendling and families that had either passed through the lumber town or who had worked there. There are photographs of the town and various building such as the company bunk house which had 46 rooms. Also included are photographs of different parts of the logging operation including an image of a section of a two mile long log chute.

The folder also contains images of a Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) camp located beside Wendling in 1934. The images show different buildings and tents constructed for this temporary town, as well as workers waiting along the train tracks. The CCC camp was located near Wendling Oregon along the Bagene railroad, Project P-210 Co. No. 729.

Logging has had a prominent history in Oregon especially in the areas around Oakridge, as depicted in a photograph of salvage logging, and a logging area near Westfir. The collection documents the Willamette National Forest with images, such as a planting station located near Oakridge, Oregon and an old bridge. There is also a photograph taken in 1951 at Taylor Burn Camp located in the Willamette National Forest. Another image depicts a crew of fire fighters in 1940 grouped together to get their photo taken.

Also located in this folder is an image of Isaac Hamner’s ranch taken in 1901. Isaac Hamner settled on Hills Creek around 1884.

Extent: 41 images, 1 folder
Box-Folder 12.4 Add to Shelf
Series 13: Central Coast Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1900-1980, Bulk: 1900-1980 Add to Shelf

Format: There are 433 total images contained in the Oregon Central Coast album. The bulk of the 425 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs, with a small number of color lithographed and contemporary postcards. The remaining 7 original photographs are mostly scenic shots of the Oregon Coast taken by professional photographers or portraits. There is one contemporary duplicate print provided by the Oregon Historical Society that depicts an Indian Midden located in Newport, Oregon.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Wesley Andrews, A.L Thomas, M. Rieder, Eooy, Sawyers, Sawyer Scenic Photos (Portland, Oregon), Mel’s Pictures, D.M Averill & Co., Ball, Christian, Smith, Zeeks Photo, Harwood, Chandler Photos, Stevenson Photo, C.A Gerhard Publisher & Importer (Corvallis, Oregon), Bradshaw, Clare Ebeling, H.W, Sands, Dotson Photo, Rawlings (Portland, Oregon), Frank Merril (Corvallis, Oregon), P.F Sasman (Newport, Oregon), Smiths Scenic Views (Tacoma, Washington), Smith-Western Inc., Andy Whipple, Burke, Brubaker Aerial Scenes (Portland, Oregon), E.F. Martin and the Pacific Photo Co. (Salem, Oregon).

Narrative Description: This album consists of images documenting scenes of the Central Oregon Coast following Highway 101 from Lincoln City to Tahkenitch Lake located above Gardiner, Oregon. The images are organized as they are geographically located along the Oregon Coast following Highway 101 as it winds south towards the Umpqua River. Williams has also included some images of natural rock formations found along the Oregon coast, as well as a few prominent historic buildings, such as the Yaquina Head Lighthouse and the Lookout located on Cape Foulweather.

Extent: 433 images, 4 folders
Box-Folder 13.1-13.4 Add to Shelf
Series 14: Northern Coast Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1903-1990, Bulk: 1905-1950 Add to Shelf

Format: The bulk of the 573 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs, with 50 color lithographed postcards and seven contemporary postcards. There is one contemporary duplicate print from the Oregon Historical and there are 34 original photographs. The original photographs range from portraits, photographs taken by professionals as well as photographs taken either as snapshots or by nonprofessionals.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: A.L. Thomas, Anderson Scenic Post Cards (Portland, OR.), Bell Photo, Ben Maxwell (Salem, OR.), Boyer, Chandler (Oregon), Christian, COE. Photo, Cole, Collins, D.M. Averill & Co. (Portland, OR.), Deone, E.A. C.O.E. (Astoria, OR.), E.D.W. H. Mitchell (San Francisco, CA.), Farl, Ford, Frank Woodfield, Frost & Sons, Photo, Frost-Foto (Seaside, OR.), George Wood, H.E. Bartels (Portland, OR.), H.R. Gregg Photo (Bay City, OR.), Hale, I. Stern, Publisher (NY), J. Waterhouse (Seaside, OR.), J.B. Silver, J.K. Gill Co. (Portland, OR.), J.S. Lamar, James, Kiser Photo Co., Louis Scheiner (Portland, OR.), M. Reider (Los Angeles, CA.), Merrimens, Monk’s Studio (Tillamook, OR.), Oregon Scenic Originals (Springfield, OR.), Ovo Foto, P.L.E., Pacific Novelty Co. (San Francisco, CA.), Pacific Photo Co. (Salem, OR.), Patton Post Card Co. (Salem, OR.), Portland Post Card Co. (Portland, OR), Prentiss, Rockaway Studio, Sands, Sawyer Scenic Photos (Portland, OR.), Sawyers, Sherman Ellis & Fitzpatrick, Smith, Smith Western, Inc., Smith’s Scenic Views (Tacoma, WA.), The Lookout, The Oregon News Company (Portland, OR.), Thos. R. Monk (Tillamook, OR.), United Art Publishing Co. (NYC), Wesley Andrews Inc., Publishers (Baker, OR.), Wood (Rockaway, OR.),Wood Foto, and Woodfield Photo.

Narrative Description: This album consists of images documenting the Oregon Northern Coastal Range’s natural beauty, structures and residents. The images are organized as they are physically located along the Oregon Coast Highway, Route 101. Williams has also included images from the surrounding areas of coastal towns, beaches, rivers and lakes documenting a variety of subjects ranging from farmers to old roads that ran along the ocean shore.

A majority of the images in this album, about 274, document the coastal area, such as beaches, capes, and bays as well as various activities taking place such as residents and visitors playing in the surf. The structures and features of Cannon Beach, are the most numerous in this album with 58 images from Cannon Beach. Rock formations such as Arch Rock (13 images), The Needles (2 images) and Haystack Rock (8 images), are present in this album. There are also 37 images of Tillamook Bay area and 11 images of the Tillamook Rock and Lighthouse. Tillamook Rock and Lighthouse was constructed in 1879 and took several years to complete due its dangerous location and the harsh elements that posed difficulties to the construction workers. Tillamook Rock and Lighthouse only operated from 1881 to 1957 and turned out to be the most expensive lighthouse to operate, due to the location as well as the storms that wreaked havoc on the structure and keepers.

Also depicted in this album are images of ship wrecks (7 images) that have taken place in the past along the shores of the Northern Oregon Coast. Five of the images are from the wreck of the Peter Iredale, which became marooned on October 25, 1906 near Fort Stevens State park. Parts of the ship still remain visible today and are a popular tourist attraction. The two other shipwrecks depicted in this album are the wreck of the Glenneslin in 1913 and the wreck of the S.S Iowa in 1936.

The Northern Oregon Coast album also covers a variety of towns following the Oregon Coast Highway from Fort Stevens State park down to Lincoln City. There are about 166 images that show the towns along the coast in early stages of development, including the houses and boulevards. Nehalem (25 images), Netarts (14 images) and Seaside (53 images) are the towns that have the most images associated with them. Of the 25 images associated with Nehalem some are of the town but many show the surrounding area and the Nehalem River.

Seaside has the most images that are directly connected with the town and the people visiting or living there (53 images). There are images of people enjoying the surf at Seaside, as well as images of just the surf. Along with images of the ocean there are also a few photographs of the town, and a few of oceanfront inns.

Within the Northern Oregon Coast album there are several images of railroads, bridges, rivers and lakes (44 images) that lay along coast line. The images serve as both pictorial landscapes as well as documentation of different features in the surrounding area.

There are several images in this album that focus on Tillamook County (26 images). Pictures of the Tillamook Burn are present in this album as well as images of the old Tillamook stage line. Besides the focus on specific towns and counties there was a focus on portraying several activities that would take place along the Oregon Coast such as farming, fishing, hunting, and logging.

Included in this album are images that are less specific and are more miscellaneous in areas of focus (46 images). There are twelve images of Fort Stevens, Oregon that show different buildings within the fort, as well as soldiers taking part in drills and inspections. Images of old roads, such as Widby Loops and Wolf Creek Highway are also help add further diversity to this album.

Continuing south are more images of lakes and bodies of water around Klamath County such as Pelican Bay (2 images), Klamath Lake (10 images), Link River (6 images), and Klamath River (3 images). There are also several images of the towns scattered throughout Central Oregon such as Bend (6 images), Madras (5 images), Klamath Falls (23 images), The Dalles (8 images), La Pine (2 images), Gilchrist (4 images), and Chiloquin, Oregon (5 images).

Central Oregon has been known as the place to fish because of the numerous lakes and bodies of water. Several photos from this album show fishing scenes such as images of fish that have been caught spilling out of baskets; the fishing location often scratched onto the bottom of the negative. Digitized images also include those of men holding stringers of fish or proudly posing nearby such as Fishing is good in Klamath County, Fishing in Klamath County, Oregon, and a scene of several men fishing along Klamath River.

The Crooked River Valley is depicted in 14 images following the path of the Dalles- California highway as it winds through the valley and various highways (13 images) such as the McKenzie Highway and the Dalles-California highway are shown from the time the roads were just dirt and to when they were gradually paved. Another set of photographs in this album portray the Crooked River Bridges during and after their construction (14 images). One of the first bridges depicted in this collection is of the Crooked River Bridge that was built for the Oregon Trunk Railroad finished in 1911.

Along with the images of the mountains, lakes and rivers are images of people’s daily activities such as farming and logging. There are also images of recreational activities such as hunting for deer and geese, taking part in rodeos and even one image of ice skating near Klamath Falls, Oregon.

Extent: 608 images, 6 folders
Box-Folder 14.1-15.2 Add to Shelf
Series 15: Umpqua River Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1888-1979, Bulk: 1900-1950 Add to Shelf

Format: The bulk of the 178 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs, with 33 color lithographed postcards and 11 contemporary postcards. There are 55 contemporary duplicate prints from the Douglas County Museum and one duplicate print from an unknown source. There are 31 original photographs that range from portraits, photographs taken by professionals as well as photographs taken either as snapshots or by nonprofessionals.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: A.C. Masters (Roseburg, OR), A.J. Evans, Art- Ray Pictures (Crescent City, CA), Bardell Art Co. (San Francisco, CA), C.A. Demaray (Grants Pass, OR), C.L. Huntington, Canyon Publishing Co. (Canyonville, OR), Cardinell-Vincent Co. (San Francisco, CA), Cart- Ray, Christian, Curt Teich & Co., Inc. (Chicago, ILL.), E.D.W. Mitchell (San Francisco, CA), Eooy, Fred H. Baker, Fred W. Cleator, Frye & Smith (San Diego, CA), Guy Gordon, J.H. Eastman, Kiser, L.L. Perkins, Loring A. Wood, M. Rieder (Los Angeles, CA), Pacific Novelty Co. (San Francisco, CA), Pacific Photo Co. (Salem, OR), Patton Postcard Co. (Salem, OR), Portland Postcard Co. (Portland, OR), Sawyer Scenic Photo, Smith’s Scenic Views (Tacoma, WA), Sprouse & Son (Tacoma, WA), Steve Astillero, The New York Store (Roseburg, OR), Union Oil Company’s Natural Color Scenes of the West, United Art Publishing (NYC), Van Vleet, Wesley Andrews Co. (Portland, OR).

Narrative Description: This album consists of images documenting the Umpqua River region, its landscape, structures and residents. The images are organized by geographical location, following the Umpqua River and its tributaries, the North Umpqua and South Umpqua rivers. The majority of the images are located within Douglas County with a few images that have branched out into the neighboring counties. Williams has included images from the towns located among the banks of the Umpqua Rivers, surrounding canyons, mountains and natural wilderness areas.

There are several towns along the fertile banks of the Umpqua Rivers and many are depicted within this album on postcards (20 images). The postcards within this album show the towns of Canyonville, Glendale, Drain, and Myrtle Creek. Roseburg is frequently displayed on several postcards and photos within this album (48 images). Several bird’s-eye views depict the old downtown area of Roseburg in postcards dating to the early 1900s. Besides bird’s-eye views there are several street views of downtown Roseburg as well as postcards of early buildings.

A majority of the postcards in this album focus on the locations and structures near the Umpqua Rivers and activities in the area. There are images of various bridges along the Umpqua as well as snap shots of the roads that follow the river such as the Pacific Highway, which is now a part of the Interstate 5 freeway. Further away from the roads are postcards that show scenic scenes of waterfalls (5 images), nearby mountains that form the horizon, and scenic canyons, that are lush with greenery (15 images). There are also several postcards that depict the Winchester Dam (9 images) as well as images of the Rock Creek Hatchery, (9 images). Further up in the hills are images from various stations that were built to keep an eye on the surrounding areas such as the Big Creek Ranger Station, Diamond Lake Guard Station and Black Rock Lookout.

The Umpqua Rivers and surrounding areas played an important role in lives of the people who lived along the banks. There are 20 images that depict logging and logging activities such as logging ponds, or guiding logs down the river. Also there are a few images that show people fishing along the banks of the river. There are several images that show the Oregon State Soldiers’ Home in Roseburg from the early 1900s as well as an early shot of Mercy Hospital from the same era. These buildings show the involvement and livelihoods of the people that lived along the Umpqua Rivers and in the surrounding areas. Photographs from various studios in the region portray the diverse group of people who lived in Douglas County in the early 1900s (20 images).

Extent: 265 images, 3 folders
Box-Folder 16.1-16.3 Add to Shelf
Series 16: Southeastern Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1897-1966, Bulk: 1900-1960 Add to Shelf

Format: The bulk of the 106 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs, with one color lithographed postcard. The remaining 2 original items are original documents, one is a newspaper from Harney County from 1895 and one is of a 1904 Harney County Graduation pamphlet.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Wesley Andrews (Baker, Oregon), J.H. Eastman’s Studio, O. Hedlund (Paisley, Oregon and Madras, Oregon), Photo Art Studio (Bend, Oregon), Leman’s Studio ( Burns, Oregon), Heck, I.C. Adams (Calistoga, California), Northrud and Stickhey (Lakeview, Oregon), M.W. H. McNeal R.S. (The Dallas, Oregon) and Christian.

Narrative Description: This album consists of images documenting the Southeastern Oregon region’s natural beauty, structures and residents. The images are organized as they are physically located on the route from Bend, Oregon to Lakeview, Oregon and the surrounding areas. Williams has also included some images of the surrounding areas of Lakeview, such as Surprise Valley, California and Goose Lake south of Lakeview, and several locations east of Lakeview and near Jordan Valley that is close to the Oregon-Idaho border (6 images), and Owyhee Dam (3 images).

Images of natural features include: Fort Rock, (8 images), a natural land formation that is a remnant of a volcanic crater. In 1938, Native American artifacts were found in a cave that indicates it as one of the earliest archaeological sites in North America. Other natural features include the Buena Vista Lookout located in Harney County, Abert Rim (9 images), Hart Mountain (2 images) and Bullard’s Canyon (4 images) located in Lake County, Oregon; several of these images have been digitized.

Also included are a few images of small towns, lakes and farmsteads, and a sod house located in Southeastern Oregon region. Some ranches that are documented on postcards are the C. W. Wither Ranch in Summer Lake, Oregon, the ZX Ranch, near Paisley, Oregon and several images of sheep herders and their flock, as well as a photograph of a rafter of 2000 turkeys being raised in a flock. There is one image of a rabbit drive. Images of towns (19 images) show the early stages of development such as Paisley, Summer Lake, Silver Lake, Millican, Burns, and Lakeview, New Pine Creek, Jordan Valley, and Frenchglen, Oregon as well as Cedarville, California, formerly known as Surprise Valley.

Lake County has a long history of farming and ranching in hay, grain, cattle and sheep in the surrounding regions and this album has several images that document different farming techniques (8 images). Range wars occurred during 1904-1906 between cattle ranchers and sheep farmers due to declarations that the sheep grazing was ruining the range lands. Several incidents involved groups of cattle ranchers killing hundreds of sheep at night after tying up the sheep herders who were on duty; some sheep herders were killed in the process. Postcards featuring sheep herders and their numerous flocks can be viewed online; “Shepherd with Gun and Dog”, “Southeast Oregon”, and “Sheep Grazing near Jordan Valley, Oregon”.

Lake County is well known for its geothermal activity.  Hunters Hot Springs (12 images) is a lodge that was built around a natural hot springs. When digging a well in 1923 a natural geyser, Old Perpetual, was discovered and has since become a major tourist attraction for people traveling through or visiting the area.

Bernard Daly was a prominent figure in Lake County and the surrounding areas; he was a businessman, banker, rancher, state representative and senator, a doctor, and served on the school board for several years. Dr. Daly was devoted to Lakeview. He never married and continued to save money all of his life. He funded the construction of several buildings throughout Lakeview, such as the old Lakeview High School, which is currently the middle school, as well as the old Courthouse building (8 images).

Frenchglen was a small cattle town located south of Burns and northeast of Lakeview near the Steens Mountain. Frenchglen was formed by Peter French in the 1870s. After his murder in 1897 his holdings became a part of Harney County for several years. A post office was established in 1926 and a hotel built in 1917 remains open and is a State Heritage site. There are two postcards of the Frenchglen Hotel and one postcard of a portrait of Peter French.

Extent: 108 images, 1 folders
Box-Folder 16.4 Add to Shelf
Series 17: Central Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1903-1987, Bulk: 1905-1960 Add to Shelf

Format: There are 7 contemporary duplicate prints copied from the originals in the Oregon Historical Society, USDA Forest Service and a few from the Oregon State Highway Travel Station. The bulk of the 457 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs, with a small number of color lithographed and contemporary postcards. The remaining 9 original photographs consist of images by professional photographers, a few portraits and snapshots taken by nonprofessionals.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: D.C Herrin (The Dalles, OR), Edward H. Mitchell (San Francisco, CA), Van V. Leet, Photo Art Camera Shop (Bend, OR), Gifford (The Dalles, Or), Sawyers, Myrick, Symons, Sprouse & Son Importers & Publishers (Tacoma, WA), Eooy, Perkins, Sawyer Scenic Photos, B. Gifford, Wesley Andrews, B.C Markham (Portland, OR and The Dalles, OR), Pacific Novelty Co. (San Francisco, CA), Portland Postcards Co., Smith-Weston Inc. (Portland, OR), Bud’s, Christian, Oregon Art Co. (Bend, OR), Central Photo Co. (La Pine, OR), B.B. Rakowski (Bend, OR), E.F. Martin (Eugene, OR), Baldvine Photo, O. Hedlund (Madras, OR), Cardinell-Vincent Co.(San Francisco, CA), Pacific Photo Co. (Salem, OR), Miller Photo Co. (Klamath Falls, OR), Anderson’s Scenic Postcards, Mrs. May Mangold (Klamath Falls, OR), O.S. Reeves, Underwood’s Pharmacy (Klamath Falls, OR), G. Heitkemper, Jr. (Klamath Falls, OR), W.S. Rice, Eastman Views Co. (Kennett, CA), Eastman’s Studio, Dotson Photo, Smith, Richard Behrendt (San Francisco, CA), and I.A. Duffy.

Narrative Description: This album consists of images documenting Central Oregon and are organized north to south along what is now Highway 97.  The route begins north at The Dalles, Oregon and continues south to Klamath Falls, Oregon.  The images in this album are of natural rock formations, mountains, lakes, and rivers as well as small towns, farms, camps, resorts, fishing, hunting and logging photographs and several scenic pictures along the old Dalles- California Highway (now Highway 97).

Starting at the beginning of the album are images of The Dalles, Oregon. There are four images of Fort Dalles and several images of The Dalles (8 images). There are images of Mount Jefferson (5 images), the Deschutes River and Canyon (10 images), Madras, Oregon (5 images), Crooked River bridges and valley (28 images), and several images of lakes around the Bend, Oregon area (36 images), as well as images of the Three Sisters (20 images). Further south there are more images of the Cascades Mountains (38 images) that include images of Mt. Bachelor, Broken Top and Pilot Butte. There are 59 images of the plentiful lakes that can be found in Central Oregon (59 images) such as Odell Lake (26 images), Paulina Lake (10 images), East Lake (10 images) and also Crescent Lake (7 images). Several of lake images also depict people fishing and boating while enjoying the weather. Benham Falls, Cline Falls, and Paulina Falls are a few of the many water features present in this album.

Several photographs have been hand colored in order to capture the beauty of the surrounding lands as in images of the Deschutes River canyon, Lake Ewauna in Klamath County, and a canal from the “Deschutes Irrigation Scheme” or plan.

Continuing south are more images of lakes and bodies of water around Klamath County such as Pelican Bay (2 images), Klamath Lake (10 images), Link River (6 images), and Klamath River (3 images). There are also several images of the towns scattered throughout Central Oregon such as Bend (6 images), Madras (5 images), Klamath Falls (23 images), The Dalles (8 images), La Pine (2 images), Gilchrist (4 images), and Chiloquin, Oregon (5 images).

Central Oregon has been known as the place to fish because of the numerous lakes and bodies of water. Several photos from this album show fishing scenes such as images of fish spilling out of baskets; the fishing location is often scratched onto the bottom of the negative. Digitized images also include men holding stringers of fish or proudly posing with fish such as “Fishing is good in Klamath County”, “Fishing in Klamath County, Oregon”, and a scene of several men fishing along Klamath River.

The Crooked River Valley is depicted in 14 images following the path of the Dalles-California highway as it winds through the valley. Various highways (13 images) such as the McKenzie Highway and the Dalles-California highway are shown from the time the roads were unpaved to when they were paved. Another set of photographs in this album portrays the Crooked River bridges during and after their construction (14 images). One of the first bridges depicted in this collection is of the Crooked River Bridge that was built for the Oregon Trunk Railroad that was completed in 1911.

Along with the images of the mountains, lakes and rivers are images of people’s daily activities such as farming and logging. There are also images of recreational activities such as hunting for deer and geese, taking part in rodeos and even one image of ice skating near Klamath Falls, Oregon.

Extent: 473 images, 4 folders
Box-Folder 17.1-17.4 Add to Shelf
Series 18: Northeastern Region - Oregon, Inclusive: 1900-1989, Bulk: 1900-1960 Add to Shelf

Format: There are 3 contemporary duplicate prints copied from the originals from the Crook County Historical Society and from the Oregon State Highway Travel department. The bulk of the 438 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs, with a small number of color lithographed and contemporary postcards. The remaining 13 original photographs consist of images by professional photographers, a few portraits and snapshots taken by nonprofessionals.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Anderson’s Scenic Postcards (Portland, OR.), Christian, International Postcard & Mfg. Co. (St. Louis, Mo.), United Art Publishing Co. (New York City, NY.), L.L. Perkins, Barkalow Bros. Railway News Service, Allen, H.G. Zinc, Photo Art Studio (Bend, OR.), Frederick Nolf & Co.,Mfg. Stations, Ellis, Miles, Auburn Postcard Manufacturing Co. (Auburn, Ind.), J.O.F. Anderson (Forks, WA.), Marlow, Edward H. Mitchell, Portland Postcard Co. (Portland, OR.), Lyons, M. Rieder (Los Angeles, CA.), Patton Postcard Co. (Salem, OR.), Geneva Publishing (Bend, OR.), Lemon’s Studio (Burns, OR.), Sprouse & Son (Tacoma, WA.), DeVere, Leo’s Studio, Brubaker Arial Surveys (Portland, OR.), Pacific Novelty Co. (San Francisco, CA.), U.P. System, B.C. Markham (Portland, OR.), Woodrutt (Portland, OR.), Gray News Co. (Salt Lake City, Utah), Knowlton & Co., Bushongs & Co. Lithograph (Portland, OR.), B.B. Bakowski (La Grande, OR.), Mae Stearks (La Grande, OR.), Holman’s Studio (Baker City, OR.), Wesley Andrews (Baker City, OR.), Major Moorhouse, Views Inc. (Seattle, WA.), Manner Photo, Bennett Seaman & Co. (Irragon, OR.), R.R. Buublebay, Frank A. Rankin (Baker City, OR.), Smith Western Inc. (Portland, OR.), Smith, W.M.H. McNeal R. (The Dalles, OR.), Frank Palmer (Spokane, WA.), Chuck Hawks, Bowman (Pendleton, OR.), Jasper M. Simmons (Imnaha, OR.), Morris & Kirsy, Sawyer Scenic Photos, Leo, U.S Forest Service, Holman Studio, C.C. Hodgin and Roy C. Edmond (Chico, OR.).

Narrative Description: This album consists of images documenting Northeastern Oregon, beginning near Grant County, Oregon. Other counties covered in this album include Crook, Wheeler, Gilliam, Morrow, Umatilla, Union, Baker and Wallowa along with the upper areas of Malheur and Harney counties. The images in this album depict natural rock formations, mountains, lakes, and rivers as well as small towns, camps and farms.

There are 35 images from Grant County that consist of images of the John Day River and towns located within Grant County such as Mt. Vernon (2 images) and Canyon City (6 images). There are 6 images of the John Day Fossil Beds and several images of the surrounding landscapes such as the Painted Hills of John Day in black and white. Other images from Crook County are images of the Wilson Ranch located in Powell Butte, Oregon (5 images), and images of Prineville, Oregon in its early stages (22 images) around 1900-1940. Also located in this album are five images of Joaquin Miller who lived in Canyon City for a short time. Joaquin Miller, was a famous poet and writer. His home in Canyon City was made into a historical building following his death.

Several other towns are depicted in this album as well (65 images), smaller towns such as Mitchell, Vale and Ontario, Oregon (6 images). Larger towns are also present in the Northeastern Oregon album; Hermiston, Oregon (14 images), Pendleton, Oregon (30 images), Baker City, Oregon (28 images) and La Grande, Oregon (15 images). Several of the images from La Grande show parts of the Eastern Oregon College (now Eastern Oregon University) campus and buildings such as the administrative building.

There are 28 images portraying the early days of Pendleton’s Round-Up, circa 1900-1920. Images of cowboys riding broncos, bulls and engaging in stage coach races, and the “Standing Roman Race” where cowboys ride two horses while racing.

Other noted areas within this album are images of Emigrant Hill (3 images) located outside of Pendleton, Oregon and five images documenting the trail markers set along the Old Oregon Trail. Several landscape photographs that document mountains, rivers, and several bodies of water (63 images) are also contained in the album, such as images of Mirror Lake, the John Day River and the Cornucopia Mountains and two images of the Owyhee Dam. There are a few wildlife pictures, such as elk, (14 images) as well as a few images of sheep and shepherds among the sagebrush and flats of Northeastern Oregon. There are 33 images of Wallowa Lake present in this album and a few images of Hells Canyon in the Snake River (6 images) and the Grand Canyon of the Snake River (5 images).

Seven images document the Hot Lake Sanitarium that was located near La Grande, Oregon. The Sanitarium was first established in 1864 when a wooden structure called a “Town Under One Roof” was constructed. It gained its name because it housed a hotel, drug store, as well as a blacksmith’s shop. Several decades later, in 1934, a fire destroyed all of the wooded structures leaving only the brick building that was constructed in 1906-1908.

Extent: 454 images, 4 folders
Box-Folder 18.1-18.4 Add to Shelf
Series 19: General - Oregon, Inclusive: 1890-1993, Bulk: 1890-1960 Add to Shelf

Format: There are 8 contemporary duplicate prints copied from the originals from the Lane County Historical Museum, the USDA Forest Service, from the Oregon State Highway Travel department and also from an unidentified source. The bulk of the 275 postcards are sepia toned, black and white photographs or color lithographed postcards along with a few contemporary postcards. The remaining 75 original photographs consist of images by professional photographers, and a few portraits and snapshots taken by nonprofessionals. Fourteen of the photographs are presented in a bound photo book that commemorates the construction of the Detroit and Big Cliff Dam projects that was gifted to a construction engineer who worked on the projects. Ephemera include state memorabilia, documents, election tickets and pamphlets, and AAA maps.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Anderson Sundry Co. ( Portland, OR.), Ball, Burbaker Arial Surveys, C.A. Gerhard (Corvallis, OR.), Cardinell-Vincent Co. (San Francisco, CA.), Christian, Coe Photo, Cross & Dimmitt, Crown Art Works (Haines, OR.), D.M. Averill & Co. (Portland, OR.), D.M. Averill & Co. (Canyonville, OR.), Dotson, E.D.W. H. Mitchell (San Francisco, CA.), E.P. Charlton & Co. (Portland, OR.), Eooy, Ezra Meeker Historical Postcards, Ford, H.W., Hilsher, J.H Eastman, J.K. Gill Co. (Portland, OR.), Louis Scheiner (Portland, OR.), M. Rieder (Los Angeles, CA.), Ovo Foto, Pacific Novelty Co. (San Francisco, CA.), Pacific Photo Co. (Baker, OR.), Pacific Photo Co. (Salem OR.), Paul C. Koeber Co. (New York City & Kirchheim.), Portland Post Card Co. (Portland, OR.), Rowena M. Hogan (Portland, OR.), Sands, Sawyer Scenic Photos, Sawyers, Smith-Western Inc. (Portland, OR.), Sowell-Simon Studio (Portland, OR.), W.G. MacFarlane, Wesley Andrews Co. (Portland, OR.), and Zeeks Photo.

Narrative Description: This album consists of images documenting Oregon in general; many pictures are not labeled with a location. This album is organized by activities and common subject matter such as the timber industry, hunting, farming and scenic photographs.

Several photographs depict outdoor activities such as hunting (15 images), fishing (9 images), farming (28 images), and scenery (22 images). Photographs of pheasants (3 images), sheep (9 images), cattle and deer help to show the diversity of animal life in Oregon. There are also several photographs of the Oregon Trail (10 images) that either show signs of the Oregon Trail or are informational pamphlets and postcards used to celebrate the Oregon Trail anniversary. In this album there are 34 images of the Oregon Coast, images such as beach goers, people bathing and playing in the ocean, as well as scenic images of the ocean and the beaches. Also included are several AAA (American Automobile Association) auto insurance maps that were produced to promote travel around Oregon. These list reliable places to stop that were recommended by AAA (25 images).

This album is heavily populated with images pertaining to the national forests and logging. There are several images of people posing next to giant trees as well as people posing next to logging equipment. There are 70 logging themed images and 15 images of forests or large trees.

Of the numerous photographs present in the album there are a few photos of forest camp rangers and of the early National Guard (4 images). Two of the images have “Philippine camp” written on them and were taken in the late 1890s or early 1900s. There are also a few pictures of people camping and picnicking in the early 1900s.

Seven images show wooden dams being constructed. A photo book gifted to E.N. Ferguson has several illustrations and images depicting the progression of the Detroit and Big Cliff Dam projects that he had taken a part in as a construction engineer from 1949-1950 (14 images).

This album has several documents pertaining to Oregon history as well as state memorabilia, such as the Oregon state seal, a postcard with the Oregon state song, and other documents and papers (8). There are election and campaign materials such as postcards sent out by candidates, Republican and Democrat tickets from 1890, and copies of election pamphlets (11 documents). Along the political papers and election campaign postcards there are photographs of John Whiteaker, the first State Governor, Mark O. Hatfield, 29th Governor of Oregon and longtime U.S. Senator, and a postcard depicting Douglas McKay, 25th Governor of Oregon.

There are several photographs of unidentified people dressed in their best clothing posing in photo studios (21 images). There are also images of families and friends posing alongside automobiles as they travel or are on a family outing (12 images). There are also a few odd images that do not fit in with any other categories, such as an image of a pagan play and an image of a little girl feeding a squirrel while playing tea time. Eleven images in this album are of various structures such as school buildings, homesteads or businesses.

Extent: 358 images, 3 folders
Box-Folder 19.1-19.3 Add to Shelf
Series 20: Western, Southern and Seattle Region - Washington, Inclusive: 1898-1975, Bulk: 1905-1960 Add to Shelf

Format: The bulk of the 270 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs or color lithographic prints with five contemporary postcards and six post cards of a different medium. There are 121 black and white postcards with 49 sepia toned and 89 color lithographic postcards. There are 23 original photographs that range from portraits, photographs taken by professionals, as well as photographs taken either as snapshots or by nonprofessionals.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photography studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: A. H. Barnes, A. J. Park (Seattle, WA.), A. L. Kreiger (Olympia, WA.), A. Young & Co. (Centralia, WA.), Adams News Co. (Seattle, WA.), Arcade Studio (Tacoma, WA.), Asahel Curtis, B.O. Riggs (Vancouver, WA.), Britton & Ray (San Francisco, CA.), Central News Co. (Tacoma, WA.), Chas. Laidlaw, Collier, D. M. Averill & Co. (Portland, OR.), D. T. Mossman (Centralia, WA.), Edward H. Mitchell (San Francisco, CA.), Ellis, Ezra Meeker (Seattle, WA.), F. H. Nowell, G. S. Muir (Tacoma, WA.), J. P. Hadley Photo (Tacoma, WA.), Jeffers, Johnston Co. (Seattle, WA.), Kern Variety Store (Centralia, WA.), Kyle Smith, Laidlaw Photographs, Leland Lund (Tacoma, WA.), Linkletter Studio, University Station, Lowman & Hanford Co. (Seattle, WA.), Nowell & Ragnon, O. T. Frasch, OHOP Bob, P. A., Kaufer, Pacific Aerial Surveys Inc. (Seattle, WA.), Pacific Novelty Co. (San Francisco, CA.), Patton Post Card Co. (Salem, OR.), Pictorial, Portland Post Card Co. (Portland, OR and Seattle, WA.), Post Card Shop, Puget Sound News Co., Roger Dudley, Romans Photographic Co., Scenic Photo Publishing Co. (Seattle, WA.), Smith’s Scenic Views (Tacoma, WA.), Sprouse & Son (Tacoma, WA.), The Acmegraph Co. (Chicago, IL), The Pugent Sound News Co. (Seattle, WA.), Theodore’s Book Store Co. (Tacoma, WA.), V. O. Hopf (Seattle, WA.), W. C. Kropp (Milwaukee), Wesley Andrews Inc. (Baker, OR.), White & Gabel (Chehalis, WA.), and Whitney Co.

Narrative Description: This album consists of images documenting Seattle and the surrounding area and the western and southern regions of Washington. The images are arranged based on geographical location as if traveling north from Vancouver, Washington to Edmonds along Interstate-5. The majority of the images are clustered around Tacoma and Seattle including images of the surrounding towns, lakes and rivers.

There are several towns depicted in postcards in this album that are along Interstate-5 and around Seattle (94 images). Of the towns depicted there are 54 images of Tacoma, portraying buildings, bridges, hotels, street scenes as well as schools and parks (16 images). Postcards depict Nisqually (5 images), Vancouver (9 images), Olympia (13 images), Centralia (9 images), as well as Fort Lewis (8 images) and Seattle (44 images) as well as other towns. A few events and locations were documented several times within this Western and Southern Washington album. Multiple postcards depict the Alaska-Yukon Pacific Exposition from 1909 that took place in Seattle, and the University of Washington’s campus during the 1910s. The early business district of Seattle was another popular subject for postcards or photographs to send to relatives back home (12 images).

There are several postcards and photographs that do not have a specific location attached such as portraits, logging scenes (9 images), postcards of people as well as a few images of ships in the Puget Sound. In this album there are also several images of forts and military barracks such as Fort Nisqually (2 images), Fort Lawton (3 images) and the Vancouver Barracks (7 images).

Postcards of scenic mountains, lakes, rivers and gorges are numerous in this album even though it is more focused on the populated areas of western and southern regions of Washington. There are pictures of the Olympic Mountains, Lake Washington, Green River Gorge, Alki Point and Sacajawea Lake. Some of the images depict the natural environment but there are several with people posing in front of scenic areas.

Of Special Note (Listed by Date):

View of a downtown Washington Town. c. 1900s. Original Photo. (Folder 20.1)

Fort Lewis, Wa. c. 1943, Ellis. (Folder 20.1)

Washington Territory, J.P. Hadley. c. 1900. “Indians Gambling”. (Folder 20.20.1)

Falkenburg & Lucks Metallurgical Dept. c. 1916. Seattle, WA. (Folder 20.2)

High School & Stadium, Mount Tacoma in Distance. Tacoma, WA. (Folder 20.2)

Gateway to City. Tacoma, WA. (Folder 20.2)

Seattle- Tacoma International Airport. c. 1949. Roger Dudley. (Folder 20.2)

Totem Pole. c. 1920s. Seattle, WA. (Folder 20.3)

1st Ave. looking North. c. 1910s. Seattle, WA. (Folder 20.3)

Seattle at night, from the waterfront. c. 1960s. (Folder 20.3)

Agricultures Building, Alaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition. c. 1909. (Folder 20.3)

Prison Ship Nip Sie, an old time man o’ war, Puget Sound Naval Station. c. 1910s (Folder 20.3)

Fireboat “Duwanish” in action. c. 1910s. Seattle, WA. (Folder 20.3)

Extent: 293 images, 3 folders
Box-Folder 20.1-20.3 Add to Shelf
Series 21: Coast and Olympic Peninsula Region - Washington, Inclusive: 1904-1980, Bulk: 1905-1960 Add to Shelf

Format: The bulk of the 461 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs with 48 color lithographed images, 11 contemporary postcards and six postcards of a different medium. There are 288 black and white postcards with only 108 sepia toned postcards. There are 44 original photographs that range from photographs taken by professionals as well as photographs taken either as snapshots or by nonprofessionals.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: A. G. Simmer (Seattle, WA.), Anderson Photo (Aberdeen, WA.), Asahel Curtis, B. O. Riggs & Co. (Aberdsen & Hoquiam, WA.), B. P. O. E., Barnes, Bell Photo, Birmingham & C. C. (Aberdeen, WA.), C. E. Nailor, C. P. Johnston Co. (Seattle, WA.), Cardinell- Vincent Co. (San Francisco, CA.), Central News Co. (Tacoma, WA.), Chas. R. Laidlaw, Clark Aldrich (Port Townsend, WA.), Curtis & Miller, D. M. Averill & Co. (Portland, OR.), Dell Mulkey, Dr. Y. J. Acton (Bremerton, WA.), Edward. H. Mitchell, Publisher (San Francisco, CA.), Ellis, Ellis Post Card Co. (Arlington, WA.), Everett, F. H. Nowell, Fenly-Photo, Groffman, Gunter & Johnson (Aberdeen, WA.), H. A. Vincent (Ilwaco & Long Beach, WA.), H. L. Fletcher (Hoquiam, WA.), I. E. M. M. Photo, J. F. Ford, Jones, Laidlaw Arial Photo, Latson, Lowman & Hanford Co. (Seattle, WA.), Mark Walmsley, National Park Concessions, Inc. (Olympic National Park, WA.), Northwest Interpretive Association, Norwood Souvenir Co., O. T. Frasch (Seattle, WA.), P. M. Richardson Photo, P. Wischmeyer (Seattle, WA.), Pacific Novelty Co. (San Francisco, CA.), Pacific Photo Co. (Salem, OR.), Patton Post Card Co. (Salem, OR.), Paul C. Koeber Co. (San Francisco, CA.), Photo’ Neil (Long Beach, WA.), Portland Post Card Co. (Portland, OR.), Puget Sound News Co. (Seattle, WA.), Radium Studio (Seattle, WA.), Robbins- Tillquist Co. (Spokane, WA.), Scenic Photo Publishing Co. Inc. (Seattle, WA.), Shanley, Simmer, Simons View Co. (Moclips, WA.), Smith- Western Co. (Tacoma, WA. and Portland, OR.), Smith’s Scenic Views (Tacoma, WA.), Sprouse & Son (Tacoma, WA.), The Jones Photo Co., Thompson, Torka’s Studio (Port Townsend, WA.), W. P. Romans , W. W. Kurtz, Ward & Co. (Bremerton, WA.), Watkins Photo, Wesley Andres Co. (Portland, OR.), Wesley Andrews Inc. (Baker, OR.), Wilson and Wood.

Narrative Description: This album consists of images documenting the Coast and Olympic Peninsula of the State of Washington and the surrounding areas. The images are found throughout several counties that lay on the Olympic Peninsula and along the Washington Coast such as Pacific, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Clallam, Mason, and Kitsap Counties. The top subject matter for the postcards located in this album is of towns (88 images), lakes (57 images), beaches (40 images), mountains (40 images) and buildings (35 images), in the area. Other subjects of interest in this album are the Bremerton Naval Yards (15 images), various Army ships in unknown bays (4 images), various hot spring resorts, lighthouses (15 images) and postcards about logging (25 images). Some of the towns depicted on postcards are Long Beach, North Beach, Aberdeen, Hoquiam and Port Angeles. There are several other postcards of smaller towns such as Oysterville and Raymond. Postcards of Quinault Lake (21) and the lodgings at Quinault Lake (11) show Quinault Lake and people engaging in various activities upon the lake such as boating and fishing. The Quinault Lake Hotel images depict the façade as well as the interior of the building. Lake Crescent was also a popular subject matter with 31 images depicting the lake and 24 images depicting the various buildings at Crescent such as cabins and lodges. Images of Sol Duc Hot Springs (12 images) and Ohanapecosh Hot Springs (3 images), two hot springs, are included. The numerous mountains that make up the Olympic Range can be found on several postcards as well as a few bays and a point that make up the coastline of the Washington Coast. The album also contains images of the lighthouse at Cape Disappointment, formerly known as the Fort Canby Lighthouse (6 images), the Destruction Island Lighthouse (1 image) and the North Head Lighthouse (6 images).

Of Special Note (Listed by Date):

Port Gamble Mill, Puget Mill Co. c. 1900s. Original Photograph. (Folder 21.5)

U.S.S Oregon, entering the new dock, Bremerton, WA. c. 1900s. (Folder 21.5)

Stump House on a Clallam Co. Homestead, Wa. c. 1910s. (Folder 21.4)

Power House Tram at Cushman Dam. c. 1910s (Folder 21.4)

Entries in Pie Eaters Contest, Long Beach, Wa., 4th of July. c. 1920s. (Folder 21.1)

Extent: 505 images, 5 folders
Box-Folder 21.1-21.5 Add to Shelf
Series 22: North Puget Sound and Western Region - Washington, Inclusive: 1895-1980, Bulk: 1905-1960 Add to Shelf

Format: The bulk of the 186 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs with 29 color lithographed images, 9 contemporary postcards and two post cards of a different medium. There are 110 black and white postcards, 36 sepia toned postcards in this album. There are 14 original photographs that range from photographs taken by professionals as well as photographs taken either as snapshots or by nonprofessionals.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: B. Y. A. Hallen, Bernie McNeil, Britton & Rey (San Francisco, CA.), C. B., C. P. Johnston Co. (Seattle, WA.), Central News Co. (Tacoma, WA.), Chas. F. Clark (Seattle, WA.), Clyde Banks (Bellingham, WA.), D. M. Averill & Co. (Portland, OR.), Darius Kinsey, E. J. Hanes (Bellingham, WA.), Edward H. Mitchell, Publisher (San Francisco, CA.), Ellis Post Card Co. (Arlington, WA.), George Mood, Gowen, Sutton Co. (Vancouver, B.C.), H. G. Zimmerman & Co. (Chicago, IL.), Hall & Sackrider Photo, Hann, Hopf. Bros. Co. (Seattle, WA.), J. A. Blosser, J. Boyd Ellis (Arlington, WA.), Jacobson Photo, Joe Obson, Johnston, Landers 5-10 & 15 cent store (Everett, WA.), Lemolo, Leo’s Studio (Spokane, WA.), Lowman & Hanford Co. (Seattle, WA.), Morris Taylor (Vancouver, B.C.), O. J. Wingren (La Conner, WA.), Pacific Aerial Surveys Inc. (Seattle, WA.), Pacific Novelty Co. (San Francisco, CA.), Patton Post Card Co. (Salem, OR.), Pickett, Portland Post Card Co. (Portland, OR. and Seattle, WA.), Puget Sound News Co. (Seattle, WA.), Rigby & Rigby, Robbins- Tillquist Co. (Spokane, WA.), Romans Photo Co., Smith-Western Co. (Tacoma, WA.), Smith’s Scenic Views (Tacoma, WA.), Sprouse and Son Importers (Tacoma, WA.), Tacoma Post Card Co., The Acmegraph Co. (Chicago, IL.), V. S. Waters (Seattle, WA.), W. B. Pigg (Sedro- Wooley, WA.), Webber and White & Gabel (Chehalis, WA.).

Narrative Description: This album consists of images documenting the North Puget Sound and Western region of Washington. The images in this album follow Puget Sound and Interstate-5 north towards the Canadian border. Postcards document the Puget Sound as well as inland areas next to the bays along Washington’s upper coast. Also documented in this album are the several islands and passages that are located in the bays such as the San Juan Islands. The top subjects for the postcards located in this album are towns (31 images), islands (23 images), historic blockhouses (15 images), and ferries (15 images).  Other subjects of interest in this album are images of the Peace Arch on the Canadian and the United States’ border (3 images), postcards of various waterways and passages (14 images) and postcards about logging (8 images). Some towns that were depicted on postcards are Anacortes, Mukilteo, Everett, La Conner, Bellingham and Sedro-Woolley. Fewer postcards are included for the smaller towns such as Arlington, Washington and Ferndale, Washington. In the second folder of this album there are numerous postcards depicting various early Washington blockhouses. The blockhouses depicted in this album are Alexander Blockhouse, Old Blockhouse at English Camp, San Juan Island, the blockhouse at Centralia, Washington and the Fort Simcoe Blockhouse. Also present in this album are postcards depicting the “Lookout Tower” or Observation Tower at Mount Constitution. Various islands pictured on postcards are Camano Island, Hope Island, Bainbridge Island, San Juan Island and Lummi Island. Deception Pass is featured on several postcards (12 images). Large cedar trees are the subject of some of the photos. There are several images of a “Cedar Arch” which depicts a road passing through an arch within a large cedar tree. One image shows a cedar stump house that was made from the base of a very large cedar tree. Another image is of people posing next to a 600-year-old cedar tree.

Of Special Note (Listed by Date):

Roadway through cedar tree. c. 1904. Lowman & Hanford Co. (Folder 22.1)

Mukilteo Lighthouse, WA. c. 1909. Lowman & Hanford Co. (Folder 22.1)

Old Hudson Bay Trading Post, Near Tacoma, WA. c. 1910s. (Folder  22.2)

High School, Anacortes, WA. c. 1917. (Folder 22.1)

A Beer party on Vashon Island, 1928. Original photograph. c. 1928. (Folder 22.2)

The Salmon Bake- Henderson Camps, Lopez Island, WA. c. 1958. (Folder 22.2)

Extent: 200 images, 2 folders
Box-Folder 22.1-22.2 Add to Shelf
Series 23: Cascades Region - Washington, Inclusive: 1902-1991, Bulk: 1905-1960; 1980-1990 Add to Shelf

Format: The bulk of the 284 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs with 29 color lithographed images, 41 contemporary postcards and two post cards of a different medium. There are 160 black and white postcards and 51 sepia toned postcards in this album. There are 10 original photographs that range from photographs taken by professionals to photographs taken either as snapshots or by nonprofessionals.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Adams News Co. (Seattle, WA.), Anderson’s Scenic Postcards (Portland, OR.), Asahel Curtis, Burbaker Aerial Surveys, C. A. Griffith Co. (Bellingham, WA.), C. P. Johnston Co. (Seattle, WA.), C. S. Reeves, Charles Hessey, Chas. R. Laidlaw, Christian, Chuck Tonn, Clyde Banks (Bellingham, WA.), D. M. Averill & Co. (Portland, OR.), Daily Herald Co., David Olson, Dimmitt & Cross, Duane Clark, E. I. Jacobson (Bellingham, WA.), E. J. Evans, E. P. Charlton & Co. (Portland, OR.), Edward H. Mitchell (San Francisco, CA.), Ellis Post Card Co. (Arlington, WA.), F. L. B., Filloon, Frank Hettler (White Salmon, WA.), Frank S. Thayer (Denver, CO.), Fred W. Aust (Seattle, WA.), Gabel & Gabel, Bookstore, Gurr Photo, Hart, Huntoon Photo, J. Boyd Ellis (Arlington, WA.), J. F. Ford, J. L. Robbins Co. (Spokane, WA.), John Keller, Johnson Bros., Johnston, Judith Wright, Jukes Photo, Juleen Photo, Kiser Photo Co., Leland Lund (Tacoma, WA.), Leray Teeple, Louis Schneiner (Portland, OR.), Lowman & Hanford Co. (Seattle, WA.), M. Rieder (Los Angeles, CA.), Pacific Novelty Co. (San Francisco, CA.), Picket Photo Co., Pickett, Pictorial, Portland Post Card Co. (Portland, OR. & Seattle, WA.), Puget Sound News Co. (Seattle, WA.), R. M. Filloon (Trout Lake, WA.), Roahee, Robbins-Tillquist Co. (Spokane, WA.), Romans Photo Co., Sawyer Scenic Photos (Portland, OR.), Sawyers, Scenic Photo Publishing Co. (Seattle, WA.), Simmer, Smith Western, Inc. (Portland, OR.), Soren Photo, Tom Adamson, U. S. Forest Service, V. S. Waters (Seattle, WA.), Van Olinda Photo, W. B. Pigg (Sedro-Woolley, WA.), Webber, Wesley Andrews, Inc. (Baker, OR.) and Wilderness Cards from the Sierra Club (San Francisco, CA.)

Narrative Description: This album consists of images documenting the Cascade Mountain region that runs north to south through the State of Washington. Individual mountains that make up the Cascade Range of Washington are depicted within this album. The album images capture the natural scenic beauty as well as showing vacationers engaged in outdoor recreation. The most prominent subjects within this album are the individual mountains that make up the Cascade Range of Washington. However, some secondary subjects that are addressed within this album are lakes (15 images), rivers (15 images), waterfalls (15 images), dams (10 images), and a few small towns (13 images). This album contains a total of 185 images documenting the various mountains and mountain ranges found in the Washington Cascades region. Certain mountains within this album appear frequently, such as Mount Baker (38 images). Also included are images of skiers on its snowy slopes and hikers climbing its rocky slopes. Mount Saint Helens is another prominent subject matter and is portrayed on 48 postcards. Some images show Mt. St. Helens as it was prior to its eruption in 1980. Other images document the plumes of ash and smoke that billowed into the sky during the eruption. Some postcard images document the aftermath of the explosion and its effect on nature, and present these images alongside others that document the current scenic beauty of the Mt. St. Helens. Also documented are Mt. Adams (21 images), Mt. Shuksan (16 images), and Snoqualmie Pass (15 images). A majority of these images present the mountains in a majestic light as they tower high upon the horizon over lakes and forests. Some also show hiking parties and camps as well as skiers enjoying the snow covered slopes. Mount Baker Lodge (6 images) is documented with both outside and interior shots before it burned down in 1931, as are the Ski Lodge at Stevens Pass and the Keechelus Lodge. Few towns are depicted in this album on postcards since the majority of postcards belong to depictions of mountains and nature. However, there are a few towns that were shown upon postcards Washington (2 images), Index, Washington (6 images), and a few images showing the Monte Cristo area in Washington (5 images).  An original photograph from 1935 shows a Civilian Conservation Corps Camp that was located in Sultan, Washington at the time. This photograph is an 8x10 glossy black and white print with an overlooking view of the C. C. C. camp that was located in Sultan; the photograph was taken by Pickett, a photography company at the time.

Of Special Note (Listed by Date):

Lava Cave, Trout Lake, WA. c. 1900s. Image of a man sitting on top of a large cave opening. (Folder 23.2)

Teddy Bear at Lunch, Darrington, WA. c. 1912. F. L. B. Image is of a little boy and girl feeding a small live baby bear. (Folder 23.2)

Mazamas atop Glacier Peak. c. 1920s. Original. (Folder 23.1)

Mt. Baker Lodge. c. 1927. Huntoon. (Folder 23.1)

C. C. C. Camp, Sultan, WA. 5-21-35, Pickett. c. 1935. Pickett. Original. (Folder 23.2)

Extent: 294 images, 3 folders
Box-Folder 23.1-23.3 Add to Shelf
Series 24: Central Region - Washington, Inclusive: 1906-1960, Bulk: 1910-1960 Add to Shelf

Format: The bulk of the 162 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs with 21 color lithographed images and one post card of a different medium. There are 104 black and white postcards and 36 sepia toned postcards in this album. There are 4 original photographs that were taken either as snapshots or by nonprofessionals.

Photographers:

The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: C.P. Johnston Co. (Seattle, WA), Gurr Photo, The Puget Sound News Co. ( Seattle, WA), Roahen, L.D. Lindsley, John W. Graham & Co. (Spokane, WA), Simmer, Pacific Novelty Co. (San Francisco, CA), Ellis Lawman & Hanford Co. (Seattle, WA), Inland Ptg. Co. (Spokane, WA), Thayer, Purl Foote Photo, E.J. Evans, Witter Photo, W. Pautzke Pub. (Ellensburg, WA), Sprouse & Son – Importers & Publishers (Tacoma, WA), Fred E. Goodell (N. Yakima, WA), Rayner Photo, Frasher Photo, Robbins-Tillquist Co. (Spokane, WA), Smith’s Scenic Views (Tacoma, WA), J.L. Robbis Co. (Spokane, WA), Young, DeLong, Ellis, Frank Matsura, F.M.H. Penticton (B.C.), W.W. Craig, Witter Photo, Gibson’s Store, Heile Photo, Joh Stanley (Republic, WA), Central News Co. (Tacoma, WA), Holden Photo, Palmer Photo, Leo’s Studio, Romans Photo Co.

Narrative Description: The postcards within this album document the Central Washington region. There are several images of lakes, rivers, waterfalls, valleys, passes and various small towns. A few of the towns depicted within this album are Bridgeport (2 images), Conconully (2 images), Republic (1 image) and Yakima, Washington (10 images). The postcards of these towns generally show a street view of the early town or show the towns in the distance taken from a hillside. There are several images of towns covered in snow. A few images of rodeo roundups from the early 1920s to the mid-1950s that had taken place in Toppenish and Ellensburg Washington are included. Soap Lake (10 images) is known for its high alkaline content that causes soapy foam to form. The water and the mud from the lake are thought to have healing powers. Ten images of the lake show people bathing in Soap Lake’s waters and capture the frothy bubbles that are left upon the shore from the waves. Lake Chelan, the largest natural lake in Washington, is a long-time recreational area. The thirty one images of the lake include people fishing and vistas with the lake with a backdrop of valleys and mountains. The Chief Joseph Dam located on the Columbia River upriver from Bridgeport, Washington is depicted in five images taken primarily between the late-1940s and 1954, shortly after its construction. Naches Pass Highway (4 images), Blewett Pass (7 images) and the Yakima Canyon Highway (4 images) are the few roadways that are present within this album.

Of Special Note (Listed by Date):

Ice Flows in Columbia River at Bridgeport, WA. c. 1916. (Folder 23.4)

Red Cedar, 14 ft. in diameter. c. 1920s. (Folder 23.4)

Congdon Residence, Yakima, WA. c. 1938. Large stone residence with partial stone wall. (Folder 23.4)

Ranger Station, Winthrop, WA c. 1940s. Leo’s Studio. (Folder 23.5)

One of the oldest ranch houses near Conconully, WA. c. 1950s. (Folder 23.5)

Extent: 166 images, 2 folders
Box-Folder 23.4-23.5 Add to Shelf
Series 25: Eastern Region - Washington, Inclusive: 1900-1985, Bulk: 1906-1950 Add to Shelf

Format: Most of the 253 postcards are either sepia toned or black and white photographs. There are 53 color lithographed images and seven contemporary color image postcards. There is one professional 4.5 by 6.5 inch black and white portrait and 24 non-professional black and white snapshots. Also included is one newspaper clipping and one advertisement envelope.

Photographers: Photographers for most images are not identified, with the exception of a few of the postcards that have the photographer’s name or photo studio written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Robbins-Tillquist Co. (Spokane, WA), E. J. Evans (Wenatchee, WA), Sawyers, Libby & Son (Spokane, WA), Western Souvenirs, J. Boyd Ellis, Gray, Scamahorn Studio, Smith’s Scenic Views (Tacoma, WA), Wesley Andrews Co. (Baker, OR), Spring Drug Co. (Pasco, WA), Robley L. Johnson, Moffat Drug Co. (Prosser, WA), Frank Palmer (Spokane, WA), Ross Hall, Leo’s Studio (Spokane, WA), Becker, Tanner Souvenir Co., Ellis, Lowman & Hanford, S. & P. Co. (Seattle, WA), Libby, DeLong (Spokane, WA), G. Nicks, W.D. McLellan, Martin Photo, John W. Graham & Co. (Spokane, WA), Keenan News Agency (Spokane, WA), F. B. Wright & Co. Publishing (Spokane, WA), Asahel Curtis, Edward H. Mitchell (San Francisco, CA), Smith, The Boughton-Robbins Co. (Spokane, WA), H. M. Course, Maxwell (Spokane Falls, Washington Territory).

Narrative Description: The postcards within this album document the eastern Washington region of the Gerald Williams Regional Collections. There are many scenic images of lakes, rivers, waterfalls, dams, Palouse farming country, small towns and the large city of Spokane. A few of the towns depicted within this album are Dayton, Elk, Ione, Colville (4 images), Walla Walla (13 images), and Ritzville, Washington (2 images). There are 50 images of the city of Spokane and surrounding area displaying its importance as the Inland Northwest rail and commercial center. There are 20 images of Pullman, Washington including several of the Washington State University campus. There are 29 images of Grand Coulee Dam, some of them showing its construction. The Grand Coulee Dam is the largest in the Columbia River Basin. Completed in 1942, it was the largest concrete structure ever built. There are several images of Roosevelt Lake, the reservoir impounded by the Grand Coulee Dam, which stretches nearly to the Canadian border. Also included are five images of Kettle Falls before it was flooded by the construction of the Grand Coulee Dam. The unique geology of Dry Falls State Park within the Grand Coulee is show in 12 images. It is a 3.5 mile wide basalt chasm with a 400 foot drop, that was left dry after the last of the Ice Age floods. There are several images of the Palouse region showing major agricultural activities, primarily wheat production. The atomic plant at Hanford Engineer Works during the early 1940s is the subject of three images. The site housed the first full scale plutonium production reactor in the world.

Of Special Note (Listed by Date):

The Pullman Flood, March 1910 (Folder 24.2)

18 ft. bridge over Z Canyon, Metaline Falls, Washington, circa1910 (Folder 24.2)

Scene from the famous Palouse wheat country, Washington, 1910 (Folder 24.2)

Hauling wheat into Palouse, Washington, 1911 (Folder 24.2)

Old Pasco-Kennewick Bridge, 1922 (Folder 24.1)

Grand Coulee Dam during construction, circa early 1930s (Folder 24.1)

Kettle Falls, WA before it was flooded, circa1930s (Folder 24.3)

Aerial shot of C.C.C. Camp, Big Creek, Idaho, circa 1935 (Folder 24.2)

Magnesite Plant, Chewelah, Washington, circa 1940 (Folder 24.2)

Hanford Atomic Bomb Plant (Hanford Engineer Works), circa early 1940s (Folder 24.1)

Extent: 280 images, 3 folders
Box-Folder 24.1-24.3 Add to Shelf
Series 26: General - Washington, Inclusive: 1890-1970, Bulk: 1899-1962 Add to Shelf

Format: The bulk of the 88 postcards are black and white photographs with 34 color lithographed images. There are 54 black and white postcards in this album. Four original photographs were taken either as snapshots or by nonprofessionals. Also included are three items of ephemera.

Photographers: The photographers for most of these images are not identified, except for some postcards which have the photographer’s last name, or photo studio, written on the negative prior to printing. Photographers include: Smith Scenic Views (Tacoma, WA), J. Bond Ellis (Arlington, WA), Jack Carver (Washington), Edward H. Mitchell (San Francisco, CA), J.H. LeBallister, Lowman and Hanford Co. (Seattle, WA), Smith-Western Co. (Tacoma, WA), Wingrove, Long Bell Lumber Co. (Longview, WA), Frank A. Newhart and Co. (Tacoma, WA), Pacific Novelty Co. (San Francisco, CA), Puget Sound News Company (Seattle, WA), D.M. Averill and Co. (Portland, OR), Central News Co. (Tacoma, WA), Kleppinger Photo, Gifford and Prentiss, J.L. Robbins Co. (Spokane, WA), E.I. Anderson, and G.H. Linden.

Narrative Description: The postcards within this album document the General- Washington region. Compared to other albums, this one focuses chiefly on logging. However, other images of lakes, rivers, waterfalls, wildlife, vintage automobiles, and small towns are present.

The most commonly featured location in this album is Western Washington (10 images), with the majority of these showing various logging scenes. Examples of these include lumberjacks with early chainsaws, crosscut saws, and axes either posing for the camera or actively chopping down trees. Another common scene is enormous old growth timber on log trucks and trains, labeled as Washington “Tooth Picks”. People posing by these trees or logs to demonstrate their size are found throughout this album. One image displays a work crew building a railroad bridge out of logs. They are also shown utilizing a steam donkey engine to drive the posts that will support the bridge into the ground. Another image depicts a movable logging camp building.

Three images feature bears in forested regions of Washington. One image features three bears “inspecting” a car. The other two images also show Washington native black bears.

One image features the same group of people in three different cars (one unidentified car and two Ford Model T’s) near a forested area.

A group of miscellaneous images features lakes, waterfalls, and natural formations. Of note in this group is a shot of the waterfall in Outlet Creek, Pinelow Park at Deer Lake, Whaptus Lake, a stone formation called “Fair Columbia in Stone”, men fishing in a stream, two images featuring Washington mule deer, a woman in a forested area surrounded by mossy branches with a description reading “Nature’s Work”, and multiple other pictures of forested areas with large and noteworthy trees. Other images showcase agriculture with three images depicting hop fields and two of these are of machines and people harvesting hops. Three more images are of sheep, two of them showing groups of sheep being sheared and one of them of a group of thirty thousand sheep near Spokane. Two images feature fishing; one is of a large unnamed (?) salmon operation on Puget Sound. Finally, one image depicts cranberry picking in Pacific County. This image is notable because the people are handpicking the berries rather than flooding the field and gathering them.

Also present in the album are three non-photographic items. The first is a Republican Party ticket from the Klickitat County, Washington Territory elections of 1872. A notable candidate on this ticket is Selucius Garfielde, who was known for his role in the organization of the Idaho Territory. The other two items are receipts for deeds originating from land departments of railroad companies, the St. Paul, Minneapolis & Manitoba Railway Company and the company that succeeded it, the Great Northern Railroad Company. Both receipts are written out to residents of Washington, one in Seattle and one in Waterville.

Of Special Note (Listed by Date):

            Inspection. c. 1948

            Six Yoke of Oxen Hauling 1270 Feet of Washington Fir on Discovery Bay, Washington.    1918.     

            Logging in the West, The Loggers Camp on Wheels. 1916.

            A Fallen Giant, Washington. C. 1915

          Sheep Industry in the West. Part of Eighty Thousand Drove, Near Spokane, Washington. 1908

            100,000 ft. of Douglas fir lumber in this 13 truck caravan – Washington. 1950     

            A Fallen Giant, Washington. c. 1910

Extent: 95 images; 3 ephemera; 1 folder
Box-Folder 24.4 Add to Shelf
Series 27: Northern Region - California, Inclusive: 1890-2000, Bulk: 1900-1960 Add to Shelf

Format: Of the 718 postcards 21 are color lithographs, 654 are black and white photographs, and 7 are contemporary.  There are also 4 panoramic, 11 tall, 3 mounted, 2 red dyed, and 16 mini wallet postcards. The album also contains 11 photographic prints. 2 of the prints are copies of black and white film negatives, 1 is a mounted photograph, and 8 are wallet sized photographs.

Photographers: Photographers for many of the images are not identified, although some postcards have the photographer’s name or photo studio on either the front or back of the postcard. Photographers and studios identified include: J.H. Eastman’s Studio, Harwood Photo, E.R. Freeman Photo, Art Ray, Zan Stark Company (Mill Valley, Cal.), Sawyer’s Scenic Photos, Fred Mayer Photo (Mill Valley, Cal.), J.C. Bardell, Lind, and B.F. Loomis (Viola, Cal.).

Narrative Description:  The images in this album document the state of California, specifically Northern California and places such as rivers, national parks, mountains, cities, and towns.  Lassen Volcanic National Park is represented in 100 of the images and the Redwood Highway/ Redwood Park is featured in 148 images. Another highly featured area is Mt. Shasta with 72 images. Depictions of logging are spread throughout the album. Various natural features are depicted such as Feather River (18 images), Shasta Lake and Shasta Dam (16 images), Klamath River (26 images), McCloud River (14), Castle Crags, Shasta Springs, Lake Almanor,  and scenic images of trails, redwoods, lava beds, lava caves, waterfalls, rapids, and other lakes and rivers.  Also included are images of cities and towns such as Tulelake and Crescent City. 

Of Special Note (Listed by Folder and Date):

Folder 25.1:

6 postcards of Burney Falls, Cal. c. 1920s-1930s.

Folder 25.2:

“Forest Fire in the Mountains”, c. 1912.

4 postcards of black bears. One has a bear standing on hind legs and two are of a mother and cubs. c. 1940.

Folder 25.3:

“USS Milwaukee ashore at Eureka, Cal.”  1917

Redwood tourist attractions: drive-through redwood trees (6) and redwood treehouses (2). c. 1920.

“Looking Skyward. The World’s Largest Cathedral Tree. Trees of Mystery Park, Redwood Highway, Calif.” c. 1920.

“World famous Octopus Trees. Here Nature tightens her harpstrings over the Fallen Giant. Trees of Mystery Park, Redwood Highway, Calif.” c. 1920.

“Tidal Geyser from underground cavern at Hawleywood Heights, 12 miles north of Arcata on Redwood Highway.” c. 1920.

“60 lb. Smith River Salmon.” c. 1930.

Two photos of shipwrecked SS Emidio, the first merchant ship torpedoed by the Japanese off the West Coast during WWII. 1941.

Folder 25.4:

“Mt. Shasta, 14,440 ft.” Mounted postcard, c. 1900.

“Big Foot, Happy Camp, Calif. Area.” c. 1950.

Folder 26.1:

“Vulcan’s Face, Lassen Eruption.” 1914.

7 postcards of “Mt. Lassen from Manzanita Lake, California.” 1939.

“Subway Caves, Lassen Volcanic National Park, Calif.” 1939.

“Cinder Cone and Lava Flow, Lassen Park, Calif.” c. 1950.

Folder 26.2:

“Shasta Dam and Shasta Lake, California.” c. 1930.

“Air View of Shasta Dam under construction, across the Sacramento River, near Redding, Calif.” c. 1930.

“Round Valley Lake near Greenville, Calif.” c. 1950.

Folder 26.3:

“Mt. Shasta Summit, elev. 14444 ft.” 1896.

“Crater on Mt. Shasta, California.” c. 1930.

“Castle Crags, Calif.” c. 1930.

“Oxone Springs, Shasta Springs, Cal.” c. 1909.

Extent: 7 folders
Box-Folder 25.1-26.3 Add to Shelf
Series 28: Central Region - California, Inclusive: 1904-1986, Bulk: 1904-1950 Add to Shelf

Format: The bulk one of the images are black and white and color lithography postcards. There is one black and white portrait photograph. There are 325 black and white postcards in the album and 51 color lithography postcards, 1 is sepia toned and 4 are contemporary postcards.

Photographers: The photographers for most of the images in the album are unidentified. Photographers include: Bud’s Studio, J.J. Madigan and Co., Wayne Paper Box and Printing Co., Zan, M. Rieder, Publ., Albertype Co., I.C.A., Eastman’s Studio, J.C. Bardell, W.M. Clearie, E. Racine, G.W. Rankin, Photo, FR, Lark & Warne, Foto, Piggott, Wm. McClearie, RHEA-Foto, Ica, Johnson Photo, LAWS, Edward H. Mitchell, publisher (San Francisco, CA), Frank J. Stumm Pubs, H.H.,  G.E. Russell, Rieder - Cardinell Co., Britton and Rey, ARTOPHO, Pillsbury Picture Co., Pictorial, Strand Photos, G.G.I.E., OWL, Mowlin, Richard Dehrendt, Lick Observatory, Stinson Detroit Publishing Co., AYDELOTTE Photo, CH, K, David Muench, M., PVC, MC, HEN, B.T., J.H. Eastman, W., H. W. M., Frashers Foto, Poriona, Putnam and Valentine Photo, F.A.L.

Narrative Description: The postcards in this collection largely depict scenes of nature in Central California with many images of lakes, rivers, mountains and forests. A few images include people boating, in street scenes, or posing in cars or trolleys, but the focus of this album is on the nature of California and its monuments. Prominent locations in the album include: Muir Woods (22 images), Calistoga (17 images), Santa Cruz (21 images), Lake Tahoe (21 images), and Donner Summit and Lake (19 images).

A large portion of the album contains images of San Francisco (98 images) including scenes of the skyline, monuments, street scenes, the Golden Gate Bridge, Oakland Bay Bridge and San Francisco Bay, Alcatraz Island and Fisherman’s Wharf.

Of Special Note (Listed by Date):

Mark Twain, Jumping Frog Jubilee, Calaveras, CA. c. 1900s (Folder 27.4)

The Lake, Laurel Del, CA. c. 1918. (Folder 27.1)

The Pinnacles National Monument Date unknown. (Folder 27.3)

Extent: 4 folders
Box-Folder 27.1-27.4 Add to Shelf
Series 29: Southern Region - California, Inclusive: 1906-1953, Bulk: 1907-1952 Add to Shelf

Format: Of the 271 items held in the album, the vast majority are black and white postcards. Also included are 17 color lithograph postcards, 3 keepsake miniatures, and 1 mounted postcard enlargement.  Virtually none of the items are dated; postmarks added to a subset of the materials have been used to establish date ranges.

Photographers: Photographers for perhaps half of the items have been discerned.  The studio most frequently identified is Frasher’s Fotos of Pomona, California. Other photographers include: Eddy, E.B. Gray & Son, Hetzel, Harlow Jones, Landstrom (Bakersfield, CA), McLaughlin, A.R. Moore, Oakes, Passmore, Wright W. Pierce Photos, Bob Plunkett Photo, Putnam Studios (Los Angeles), Sunset Photo, Western Pictures, and Willard.

Narrative Description: The album consists of postcard images that primarily depict the natural environment of southern California in the early decades of the twentieth century.  Prominent themes of these materials include mountain landscapes, bodies of water, forests, and desert scenery. A lesser emphasis of the album is imagery of cities in the region, also dating to the early 1900s, as well as documentation of human industrial and agricultural impact in the area.

The album includes significant ranges of materials devoted to the following locations: Mono Lake and Mono County (11); the Mammoth Lakes region (19); Sequoia National Park (30), including 6 images of Moro Rock; Kings Canyon National Park (13); General Grant National Park (6); locations in Mineral King and Tulare County (4); Mount Whitney (7); and Mount Baldy (3).

Likewise included are images of Death Valley (9); Mount Wilson (5); Catalina Island (8); Big Bear Lake (5); the Imperial Valley (17), including the Salton Sea and Odessa Canyon; the Joshua Tree National Monument (3); Idyllwild (5); the San Bernardino Mountains (6); and Lake Arrowhead (4).

Cities and other communities documented in the album are: Pasadena and Los Angeles (14), including artistic representations of homes in the Hollywood Hills; San Pedro; Long Beach; San Diego (15), including Point Loma; Palm Springs and Palm Canyon (6); and early Spanish missions located in San Fernando, Riverside, and Santa Barbara (7).

Of Special Note (Listed by Folder):

Imagery of large redwood and sequoia trees, including “Fallen Monarch,” the General Lee Tree, and the interior of “Tharp’s Log.” (Folder 28. 1)

Documentation of the human impact on southern California’s landscape, including images of oil rigs and “Signal Hill” in Long Beach, and artistic depictions of orange groves. (Folder 28. 2)

Images of specific events, including Easter Sunrise service at the Hollywood Bowl, a different Easter morning gathering at Mount Rubidoux, and the docking of Old Ironsides at San Pedro Bay. (Folder 28. 2)

Artistic photography of desert landscapes including mud volcanoes at the Salton Sea as well as dunes, cacti and natural springs in various desert locations. (Folder 28.2)

Extent: 271 images; 3 folders
Box-Folder 28.1-28.3 Add to Shelf
Series 30: General - Idaho, Inclusive: 1902-1963, Bulk: 1908-1953 Add to Shelf

Format: The majority of the 219 postcards in this album feature either sepia toned or black and white photographs, though about 40 color lithographed images do appear—including 9 featuring scenes of Boise. Additionally, there are approximately 24 black and white snapshots and one color photograph.

Photographers: Though much of the postcard photography is unattributed, several photographers do appear regularly within the series. Most frequently identified are the works of Leo M. Oestreicher, Leo’s Studio, and Ross Hall. Other photographers include Walter Lubken, Asahel Curtis, Lillian M. Bell, Barnard’s Studio, and Myer’s Photography.

Narrative Description: The postcards within this album document the towns, landscapes, wildlife, and waterways of Idaho as they appeared in the first half of the 20th century. The album is comprised largely of photography of Idaho’s rivers and lakes including the Payette River, Clearwater River, Twin Lakes, Alturas Lake, Harrison Lake, Priest River, Bear Lake, Lake Pend d’Oreille, Pettit Lake, Red Fish Lake, Clarks Fork River, St. Joe River, Roman Nose Lake, Twin Falls, and Elk River. Of particular note are postcards featuring scenery along the Snake and Salmon Rivers and more than 20 images of Priest Lake and the surrounding area.

Towns and cities featured in the album include Weiser, Nampa, Boise, Orofino, Coeur d’Alene, Burke, Sun Valley, Lewiston, Wallace, Kellogg, Twin Falls, Burley, Parma, Idaho Falls, Wardner, Emmett, and Payette. Many of these images feature local landmarks, typically mills, or elevated photographs of the town and surrounding area. Relatively few street scenes appear.

The album also includes photographs of Coeur d’Alene National Forest, St. Joe National Forest, Scotchman Peak, and the Sawtooth Mountains.

The snapshots included in this album appear to have been taken during a 1918 trip through western Idaho. Locations photographed during this trip include Couer d’Alene (3 photos), Harrison (1 photo), Hayden Lake (4 photos), Spirit Lake (5 photos), Maries River (3 photos), the St. Joe River (1 photo).

Of Special Note:

The Great Arrow Rock Dam near Boise (Folder 29.1)

Fish Inn, Coeur d’Alene, ID (Folder 29.1)

Craters of the Moon National Monument (Folder 29.1)

Rimrock Hansen Bridge (Folder 29.1)

World’s Largest White Pine Mill near Lewiston, ID (Folder 29.2)

Lewiston Spiral Highway (Folder 29.2)

Subterranean Ice Cave (Folder 29.2)

Jerome Bridge at Twin Falls (Folder 29.2)

Shoshone Ice Caves, Shoshone, ID (Folder 29.2)

Ohio Match Company, Huetter, ID (Folder 29.2)

Extent: 2 folders
Box-Folder 29.1-29.2 Add to Shelf
Series 31: General - Montana, Inclusive: 1908 - 1988, Bulk: 1910-1920 Add to Shelf

Format: Of the 116 postcards, 12 are color lithographs and the remainder are black and white photographs.  The album also contains 10 photographic prints, 2 of which are non-professional shots and at least 2 of the other prints are reproductions of U.S. Forest Service prints.  Some of the postcard images are reproductions of older photographs.

Photographers: Photographers for most images are not discernible, with the exception of several postcards that have the photographer’s name or photo studio on either the front or back of the postcard. Photographers and studios identified include: Glacier Studio, Keefe Brothers, McKay Art Co. (Missoula, MT), Hileman, Fred Kiser (Portland, OR), R.E. Marble, Marble Photo, Marble, Leo’s Studio (Spokane, WA), Sonbern, Marcell, A.T. Webster, Hartley Photo Shop, Guest Photo Art Shop (Kalispell, MT), J.W. Meiers, M.L. Oakes and Swan.

Narrative Description:  The images in this album document the state of Montana and its rivers, national parks, mountains, mining industry and cities and towns.  Glacier National Park is represented in 44 of the images.  Various natural features in Glacier are depicted such as Two Medicine Lake, Mount Rockwell, Heavens Peak, Palisades Glacier, Lake McDonald and scenic images of trails, waterfalls and rapids.  Also included are images of Glacier Lodge and Two Medicine Lake lodge. 

All of the other geographic areas in the albums are represented in one to five images. Natural areas shown in the images include the Yellowstone area, the Montana Badlands, Morrison Cave, the Blackfoot River and canyon, Bitterroot, Rattlesnake and Kootenai rivers, Gallatin Canyon, Flathead Lake and river, Hells Gate Canyon, Canon Natural Bridge, and Medicine Lake, among others. Photographs of cities and towns included in the album are from Bozeman, Butte, Billings, Great Falls, and Helena. Smaller towns include Miles City and Eureka.  Shots of a lookout tower from Lolo National Forest and a lookout house from Coeur d’Alene National Forest (Idaho) are included, as well as a mine  in Butte, a gold dredge on Ruby Mountain, the B & M smelter in Great Falls, and log jams on unnamed rivers. The William S. Hart Monument (Billings, MT) and the Sacajawea Monument (Three Forks, MT) are each represented in single postcard.

Of Special Note (Listed by Date):

Lookout Fireman from Lolo National Forest

Coeur d’Alene National Forest Lookout House

Gold dredge on Ruby Mountain

Morrison Cave

Interior images of Glacier Lodge

Extent: 1 folder
Box-Folder 29.3 Add to Shelf
Series 32: General - Alaska, Inclusive: 1898-1988, Bulk: 1910-1930 Add to Shelf

Format: Most of the album is composed of “real photo” black-and-white postcards produced in the first decades of the twentieth century. There are several color lithographed and contemporary color images, as well as five amateur snapshots produced between approximately 1910 and 1940.

Photographers: For most of the images, photographers are not identified. Some of the real photo postcards have photographer or studio names noted, including the names Robinson, Johnston, Griffins, Alaska Shop, and Schallerer. One postcard displays the photographer’s name as Guy F. Cameron.

Narrative Description:

The postcards in this album largely show images of Alaska between approximately 1910 and 1930. Many scenic images are included, as well as images of life, activities, and industry on the frontier of Alaska. Images of wild animals, hunting operations, salmon traps, gold dredging machinery, mining operations, mushing dogs, and the lumber industry are common. Several images depict pioneer towns in their early days or primitive settlements for miners and other workers. A number of locales are included, among them Knik, Point Barrow, Fairbanks, Ketchikan, Nome, Gulkana, Cordora, and the Kenai Pennisula. Of particular note are a series of images of Alaska glaciers, including Davidson, Spencer, Taku, Columbia glaciers, and Mendenhall Glacier in Juneau. Several images related to Knik, Alaska depict town life, and one is a promotional postcard (circa 1915) for Knik, advertising homesteading opportunities and nearby gold fields. Approximately 15 images have handwritten messages from the original senders.

Of Special Note:

St. Michael’s Cathedral, Sitka Alaska (circa 1915)

U. S. Mail Team [mushers] (circa 1930)

Transporting U. S. Mail (circa 1915)

Pioneer Roadhouse, Knik Alaska (circa 1915)

Extent: 2 folders
Box-Folder 30.1-30.2 Add to Shelf
Series 33: Great Basin, Colorado and Southwestern Regions - United States, Inclusive: 1898-1982,  Bulk: 1920-1950 Add to Shelf

Format: Almost all of the images in this album are postcards. Of the 193 postcards, 140 are black and white photo-postcards, 48 are color lithographs, 4 are contemporary color postcards, and 1 is halftone black and white.  Twenty-two of the color lithographs are a foldout set of images. There are 2 original, non-postcard photographs – one that was likely taken by a professional photographer and one that was probably taken by an amateur photographer. The collection also includes 2 contemporary, black and white, duplicate prints of early 20th century U.S. Forest Service images.

Photographers: Several photographers and photography studios are identified or partially identified. They include Frashers Fotos, Pomona, CA (11 images of Nevada, Arizona and New Mexico); Oakes; Utah Parks Co.; Kolb Brothers (Grand Canyon, Arizona); Detroit Photographic Co.; Mullarky Photo; SW Post Card Co., Albuquerque; Fred Harvey (western U.S. restaurant and gift store mogul); Leck; Frank S. Thayer (publisher), Denver; L.L. Cook Co. (publisher), Milwaukee; Harry Reed, Moab, Utah; Schutte; W.J. Lubken (U.S. Reclamation Service photographer); and Yamaguchi Seikyokudo Co. Of special note are the 40 images of Colorado taken by William P. Sanborn of Denver, Colorado.

Narrative Description: This album contains images of the Great Basin states of Utah and Nevada, the southwestern states of Arizona and New Mexico, and Colorado. Many of the images document national parks, national monuments, and national forests and federal dams. Locations of this type that are well-represented in the album include Boulder Dam (Arizona-Nevada border), Kaibab National Forest (Arizona) including several wildlife images, Grand Canyon National Park (Arizona), Carlsbad Cavern (New Mexico), Zion National Park (Utah), Rocky Mountain National Park (Colorado), and the Garden of the Gods (Colorado). Other landscape images include mountains, mountain passes, highways, rivers, lakes, valleys, streams and other geographic and geological features.

Views of towns and cities include Cripple Creek, Lyons, Denver, Colorado Springs, Colorado; Ogden, Bingham Canyon, and Salt Lake City, Utah. Also included are images of mines in Utah and Colorado and ski slopes near Aspen, Colorado.

The earliest image in this album is from1898, although the postcard was produced at a later date.

Of Special Note (List by Date):

Day shift on the Mable Mine, Colorado, 1898 (Folder 30. 2)

Sheep grazing in the Santa Fe National Forest, New Mexico, 1903; USFS photo #47313 taken by Reclamation Service Photographer W. J. Lubkens (Folder 30. 2)

Surveying work in Caliente, Nevada, June 1907 (Folder 30. 1)

Sheep grazing at the foot of Mt. Wilson in the Montezuma National Forest, Colorado, 1908; USFS photo #80527 taken by Reclamation Service photographer W. J. Lubkens (Folder 30. 2)

Foldout set of 22 chromolithograph views of Arizona and California (plus one each of El Paso, Texas and Juarez, Mexico), ca. 1915 (Folder 30. 1)

Military detachment and trucks in the Arizona desert, ca. 1917 (3 images) (Folder 30. 1)

Bird's eye view of downtown Denver, Colorado, from Daniel-Fisher Tower, ca. 1925 (Folder 30. 2)

Meteor crater in Arizona, ca. 1930 (Folder 30. 1)

Extent: 2 folders
Box-Folder 31.1-31.2 Add to Shelf
Series 34: Eastern and Southern Regions - United States, Inclusive: circa 1890 – circa 1980, Bulk: 1910-1960 Add to Shelf

Format:  The bulk of the images in this album are postcards (79 total); of these, 25 are black-and-white or sepia-toned, 34 are color lithographs, and 19 are contemporary.  One of the postcards is a thin piece of wood.  The album also includes 13 original photographs; most are snapshots.  Two of the original photographs were made by a professional photographer.  The album also includes a sheet of poster stamps for the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and a 1978 first-day cover for Jimmie Rodgers of Meridian Mississippi.

Photographers:  Photographers are not identified for most of the images.  Several images are attributed to these photographers:  William Cline; H.C. Ganter; Jack Huff;  and the Eldowes Brothers of New York.  One image by artist H.P. Ijams is included.

Narrative Description: This album documents the eastern and southern United States beginning in Florida and progressing north to Maine.  The bulk of the images depict natural features, forests, and national parks.  About a third (34) of the images in the album are of Florida, primarily of Miami and south Florida.  A postcard of a launch at the Kennedy Space Center is included.  The album only includes one image of Georgia (Stone Mountain) and two postcards of coastal South Carolina.  North Carolina is well-documented in the album with 20 images.  Many of these are of sites and natural features in the Pisgah National Forest, including the Forest Heritage National Scenic Biway.

Several postcards of Bristol on the Virginia-Tennessee state line are included in the album.  Among these is a 1908 image of students’ review day at the Virginia Institute in Bristol.  Several images of the Great Smokey Mountains National Park and Blue Ridge Mountains are included.  A view overlooking the Cumberland Gap from atop Pinnacle Mountain near Middlesboro, Kentucky shows the proposed Cumberland Gap National Historical Park.

A few images of Washington, DC and New York City are included to represent that area.  New England is depicted with images of New Hampshire (Mount Washington and the White Mountains), Vermont, and Maine.  A log jam on the Penobscot River in Maine is depicted in one postcard.

This album also includes three images of Hawaii – two are of volcanic activity and the third is a view of a structure in Honolulu (likely constructed by missionaries) described as the  “oldest house west of the Rockies”.

Of Special Note:

A postcard, “Darky’s Prayer, Florida”.

Several snapshots of an African American man with a bicycle in Miami, Florida.

Giant Cypress in Big Tree Park near Longwood Florida.

Carte de visites of two unidentified young women made by Eldowes Brothers of New York.

A log jam on the Penobscot River in Maine.

Extent: 1 folder
Box-Folder 31.3 Add to Shelf
Series 35: Central States and Pennsylvania  – United States, Inclusive:  1874-1984, Bulk:  1904-1960 Add to Shelf

Format:  The bulk of the images in this album are postcards (101 total); of these, 65 are black-and-white or sepia-toned, 33 are color lithographs, and 3 are contemporary.  The album also includes 4 original photographs; two are portrait photographs and two are snapshots.

Photographers:  Photographers are not identified for most of the images.  However, the following local photographers and studios are identified in the album:  Lease; L.R. Taylor of Sturgis, South Dakota; Rise Photo; Wesley; Miller Pix of Pierre, South Dakota; Verne’s Photo; B.H. Studios; I.R. Studio of Iron River, Michigan; and W.H. Yant.

Narrative Description:

This album documents primarily the Great Plains and upper Midwest states.  It includes images of Kansas (1), Nebraska (6), North (5) and South (38) Dakota, Minnesota (24), Michigan (7), Missouri (6), Iowa (4), Illinois (2), Pennsylvania (8), Texas (1), Louisiana (1), and Arkansas (2).

The album includes images of homesteaders on the plains, national forests, parks, and landmarks, shipping on the Great Lakes, timber and logging in Michigan and Minnesota, and CCC camps.

The South Dakota postcards include multiple images of the Harney Peak Ranger Station and Lookout in the Black Hills, the Badlands, and Mount Rushmore.  The Nebraska images depict the Oregon Trail near Scotts Bluff.  Several postcards of the area near Milford, Pennsylvania, are included.

Of Special Note:

Two images of the ladder to the top of Harney Peak.

Buffalo herded into a blizzard in Ft. Pierre, South Dakota

CCC camps in Lanesboro, Minnesota; at Indian Trail State Park near Steelville, Missouri and in Pennsylvania.

A log jam on the Susquehanna River, Pennsylvania – April 21, 1874.

Box-Folder 31:4 Add to Shelf
Series 36: General - United States, Inclusive: 1892-1949, Bulk: 1900-1920 Add to Shelf

Format: The majority of the images are postcards (64), 48 of these are black and white. The postcards include 3 color lithography images, 7 contemporary images (2 color), 4 stereoscopic postcards (black and white), 2 cartoon drawings, and one postcard business receipt from 1892.  Also present in the album are 28 snapshots, 15 professional photographs (5 mounted prints), 1 miniature, and one professional family portrait.  Ephemeral items include: 1 coupon; 1 memorial card; 2 airline luggage labels (stickers).

Photographers: Ross Hall is the only photographer identified in this album. The remainder of the images do not indicate photographer or studio.

Narrative Description: The album differs from many of the other regional albums in that it contains few images from well-known national parks or landmarks.  The images in this collection are eclectic and many of the locations or individuals are unidentified. One set of snapshots appear to have been removed from a different, perhaps purchased family album. Postcards and photographs depict scenes of nature, logging, forests, trains and railroads, street scenes, families and individuals, and people engaged in activities such as fishing and hunting. Some of the locations identified in the album include: the coast near Tillamook, Oregon (1 image), a paddleboat on the Ohio River near Cincinnati (1 image), Des Moines, Iowa (1 image), Mt. Eddy, California (1 image), Lee Vining Canyon, California (1 image), Morro Rock, California (1 image), Civilian Conservation Camp (C.C.C.) Camp Westgate, Co. 1915, Nevada (1 image), Bald Mountain, Oregon (1 image), and Lehman Caves National Monument, Nevada (1 image).

Of Special Note (Listed by Date):

Memorial card (1887) (Folder 32.1)

The “Whole Dam Family” postcard (circa 1900-1910) (Folder 32.1)

Civilian Conservation Camp (C.C.C.) Camp Westgate, Co. 1915, Nevada (1930s) (Folder 32.1)

Two-Man Japanese Submarine Washed Up After Pearl Harbor. c. 1940s (Folder 32.1)

Bicentennial flag postcard (1976) (Folder 32.1)

Two Towers, NY. c. 1990s. (Folder 32.1)

Extent: 105 images; 4 pieces of ephemera; 2 folders
Box-Folder 32.1-32.2 Add to Shelf
Series 37: General - Canada, Inclusive: 1902-1996, Bulk: 1930-1940 Add to Shelf

Format: The bulk of the images in this album are postcards (253 total) and most are black and white postcards (152). The exception are the 59 color lithography postcards, 41 contemporary postcards, and 1 wooden postcard.  The album also contains 14 snapshots, and a film envelope.

Photographers: The photographers for most of the images in the album are unidentified. Photographers include: T. N. Hibben & Co., Western Canada Airways, G.S.W.L.1d, Adrian Dorst, Jim Darling, Mark Hobson, Barbara Schramm, Garth Lenz, Michael Foort, J.V., P.M. Richardson Photo, Stride Photo, F. Gowen, B.L., G.S. Ca, J., Byron Harmon, Taylor, R.O., Canada-T.C., Photo Clarke, Hamilton Wright Organization Photo, Rex Harper, Schallerer, Jerrett Photo, Foto Flatau Panama, Photo Spalding, A. Bedford, Leo’s Studio Spokane, Thompson’s Studio (Vancouver B.C.), Detroit Photographic Co., Lincford, John Bicknell, Roger Witney, Craig Lillico, L. Fisher, Scott Rowed, Douglas Leighton, Montreal Litho Co. Limited, Round.

Narrative Description: The postcards in this collection are include spectacular images of the Canadian Rockies, and Jasper and Banff National Parks, and other popular destinations in Canada. Many images depict scenic landscapes or cities. Prominent locations identified in the album include: Nanaimo, B.C. (9 images), Vancouver (10 images), Jasper National Park (9 images), Lake Louise (15 images), Banff National Park (16 images), Mt. Stephen and Kicking Horse, B.C. (5), Glacier, B.C. (5). The postcards in the album are varied with a small number of postcards depicting many different locations in Canada. There are a few images from the Bahamas, Egypt, New South Wales and Sydney, Australia included in folder 1.

Of Special Note (Listed by Folder):

Film envelope –Hudson’s Day Company, Victoria, B.C. (Date unknown) (Folder 32.3)

Modern reproduction of Three Brothers by Case and Draper (c. 1906) (Folder 32.3)

‘SS Beaver’ the first steamer on the pacific coast, B.C. c. 1907. (Folder 32.3)

Modern reproductions of photos by Edward Curtis (c. 1914) (Folder 32.3)

Early “snowmobile” on Columbia Icefield in Banff (c. 1950s) (Folder 32.4)

Scenic landscape shots in and around Banff National Park including Lake Louise (Various dates) (Folder 32.4)

Rotunda of Jasper Park Lodge (c. 1960-1970s) (Folder 32.4)

Totem Poles, Jasper National Park. (Date unknown) (Folder 32.4)

Caribou swimming the Yukon River (Date unknown) (Folder 32.4)

Climbing the Great Glacier, Glacier, B.C. (c. 1910-1920s) (Folder 32.5)

Driving the Golden Spike on the C.P.R., Nov. 7, 1865 (reproduction) (Folder 32.5)

Banff Springs Hotel (Date unknown) (Folder 32.5)

Extent: 267 images; 1 piece of ephemera; 3 folders
Box-Folder 32.3-32.5 Add to Shelf
Related Materials