Oregon State UniversitySpecial Collections & Archives Research Center

Affirmative Action Office Records, 1971-2010

Historical Note:

Oregon State University's Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity (OAAEO) was founded in 1972 to ensure that all University community members uphold federal and state civil rights laws and regulations as well as the University's equal opportunity policies.

The OAAEO manages the University's affirmative action and equal opportunity efforts by establishing policies and procedures and by evaluating hiring and recruitment practices. The office investigates and resolves discrimination complaints and coordinates the University's obligations under the Americans with Disabilities Act. The OAAEO also offers training and education on a variety of topics related to affirmative action and equal opportunity.

Directors of the Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity have included Ronald McClain (1973-1975); Pearl Spears Gray (1976-1987); Stephanie Sanford (1987-2000); and Angelo Gomez (2000-).

Return to Affirmative Action Office Records Home