Oregon State UniversitySpecial Collections & Archives Research Center

Faculty Senate Records, 1944-2012

Scope and Content Note

Due to differences in the series designations between the paper and microfilm records in this group, the microfilm reels are described separately below and in the inventory.

Series I contains correspondence, minutes, memoranda, annual committee reports, and studies generated by the Faculty Senate's committees. Two of the major committees represented in this series are the Executive and the Faculty Economic Welfare Committee. The latter examined issues pertaining to faculty salaries and benefits. One cubic foot of Faculty Senate materials from the records of C. W. Hovland, Department Chair of Religious Studies and president of the Faculty Senate from 1978 to 1979, has been transferred into this series. Series II consists of minutes of the Faculty Senate. The microfilm records also contain minutes of the Faculty Senate and cover one year (1956) not in the paper records. Series III are Reports to the Senate sent to Senate members outlining meeting agendas and memoranda and reports from committees.

Series IV contains informational materials and memoranda regarding the presentation of the OSU Distinguished Service Awards. Nomination packets of the winners of the Distinguished Service Award and other awards (containing curriculum vitas and letters or recommendation) are also in this series.

Series V consists of studies, opinion papers, and addresses prepared for the Faculty Senate by faculty members, committees, and outside consultants. Series VI contains general correspondence, a handbook, memoranda, and informational reports relating to the administrative structure, policies, and history of the Faculty Senate.

The 5 reels of Faculty Senate microfilm records date from 1944 to 1971 and consist primarily of correspondence, minutes, committee and curriculum council reports, informational materials, and memoranda. The minutes, informational material, and reports were created by the Committee On Faculty Organization, an ad hoc committee formed by the University to establish the Faculty Senate. The microfilm also contains correspondence, memoranda, and reports from the Committee On Committees and the Publication Advisory Committee. Series numbers in brackets on the inventory correspond to series indicators in the microfilm.

An addition to the Faculty Senate Records (Accession 2008:006) consists of materials generated by the Faculty Senate's Advancement of Teaching Committee. In addition to annual reports, meeting minutes and agendas, membership rosters, and a faculty forum paper, these records also contain correspondence and reference materials documenting the committee's assessment of guidelines for student and citizen evaluation of teaching. Also found in this transfer are materials relating to a survey on campus climate that was organized by the committee.

A second addition to the Faculty Senate Records (Accession 2011:058) consists of materials generated by the Faculty Senate Student Recognition and Awards Committee and is made up of annual reports, cds, correspondence, event programs, meeting minutes, newspaper clippings, and scripts for speeches delivered at the yearly Student Recognition Awards Dessert Reception.

A third addition to the Faculty Senate Records (Accession 2013:003) consists of award nomination packets and other materials collected by the Faculty Recognition and Awards Committee of the Faculty Senate Office. Presented at OSU's annual University Day, the awards featured in these records include: the Dar Reese Excellence in Advising Award, the Curtis D. Mumford Faculty Service Award, and the OSU Alumni Distinguished Professor Award. Other records in this accession reflect the work of the Student Recognition Awards Committee and the Academic Advising Council. Announcements e-mailed by the Faculty Senate to OSU faculty and staff through various listservs are also part of this transfer. Subjects covered in the messages include small group conversations with President Ray, Faculty Senate Elections, and the City of Corvallis-OSU Collaboration Task Force Committee.

Return to Faculty Senate Records Home