Oregon State UniversitySpecial Collections & Archives Research Center

Entomology Department Records, 1887-2003

Historical Note:

Entomology has been taught at Oregon State since 1873. A Department of Zoology and Entomology was established in 1889, with F. L. Washburn as the chair. In 1914, Entomology was made a separate department and an undergraduate major was created. An M.S. in Entomology was begun in 1911, and in 1938 a Ph.D. program began. Since 1923, the department has been a part of both the Colleges of Science and Agricultural Sciences.

Originally housed in Benton Hall, the department moved to Education Hall in 1902, then moved again in 1910 to Strand Hall, and finally relocated to Cordley Hall in 1957. Arthur Burton Cordley served as a professor of Zoology and Entomology and Experiment Station Entomologist.

In 2003, due to budget reductions, the Entomology Department was eliminated as a separate organizational unit and the core instructional, scientific, and service functions were transferred to other OSU departments.

Department Chairs:

1889-1912 Frederick L. Washburn
1912-1915 H.F. Wilson
1916-1924 A.L. Lovett
1924-1952 Don C. Mote
1952-1971 Paul O. Richter
1971-1973 Knud G. Swenson
Acting, 1973-1974 Paul M. Oman, Sr.
1975-1976 Carlton Koehler
Acting, 1976-1978 John D. Lattin
1978-1986 Bruce Eldridge
1986-1991 Ralph E. Berry
1991-1994 Gerald W. Krantz
1995-2002 Paul C. Jepson
2002-2003 Timothy Schowalter

Return to Entomology Department Records Home