Oregon State UniversitySpecial Collections & Archives Research Center

Sports Media Guides, 1938-2012

Historical Note:

Oregon State University teams have competed in intercollegiate athletics since the 1890s. Oregon State fielded its first football team in 1893. Intercollegiate competition in women's basketball began in 1898, three years before men's basketball debuted in 1901. Men's track began in 1906, baseball in 1907, and wrestling in 1909. Competitive rowing began at Oregon Agricultural College in 1927 as an intramural (inter-class) sport. A Rowing Club for intercollegiate competition for men was established in the early 1930s after Edward A. Stevens joined the physical education faculty in 1931.

Women were competing in a variety of intercollegiate sports by the 1920s, more than 50 years before the Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Department was established in 1973. By the mid-1970s, women's teams were established in basketball, crew (rowing), cross country, golf, gymnastics, softball, swimming, tennis, track and field, and volleyball. Track and field for both men and women were eliminated at the end of the 1988 season; however, women's cross country and track resumed in the 2004-2005 academic year.

Oregon State University currently (as of 2010) competes in 7 men's intercollegiate sports and 10 women's. For men, these are baseball, basketball, football, golf, rowing, soccer, and wrestling. For women, these are basketball, cross country, golf, gymnastics, rowing, soccer, softball, swimming, track, and volleyball.

Return to Sports Media Guides Home